What is money laundering?

Money laundering is the process used to disguise the source of money or assets derived from criminal activity. Profit-motivated crimes span a variety of illegal activities from drug trafficking and smuggling to fraud, extortion and corruption. The scope of criminal proceeds is significant - estimated at some $590 billion to $1.5 trillion (U.S.) worldwide each year.

Money laundering facilitates corruption and can destabilize the economies of susceptible countries. It also compromises the integrity of legitimate financial systems and institutions, and gives organized crime the funds it needs to conduct further criminal activities. It is a global problem, and the techniques used are numerous and can be very sophisticated. Technological advances in e-commerce, the global diversification of financial markets and new financial product developments provide further opportunities to launder illegal profit and obscure the money trail leading back to the underlying crime.

While the techniques for laundering funds vary considerably and are often highly intricate, there are generally three stages in the process: 

  • Placement: involves placing the proceeds of crime in the financial system;
  • Layering: involves converting the proceeds of crime into another form and creating complex layers of financial transactions to disguise the audit trail and the source and ownership of funds (e.g., the buying and selling of stocks, commodities or property); and,
  • Integration: involves placing the laundered proceeds back in the economy under a veil of legitimacy.

FINTRAC's financial intelligence plays a critical role in helping to combat money laundering. This financial intelligence is used to assist money laundering and terrorist financing investigations in the context of a wider variety of criminal investigations, where the origins of the suspected criminal proceeds are linked to drug trafficking, fraud, tax evasion, corruption, and other criminal offences. With these types of crimes, there are victims, there is often violence, and there is real social harm.

Date Modified:

Qu'est-ce que le blanchiment d'argent?

Le blanchiment d'argent est le processus consistant à dissimuler la source de l'argent ou des biens tirés d'activités criminelles. Une grande variété d'activités illégales sont motivées par le profit, notamment le trafic de stupéfiants, la contrebande, la fraude, l'extorsion de fonds et la corruption. L'importance de ces produits est considérable - quelque 590 milliards à 1 500 milliards de dollars américains dans le monde entier à tous les ans.

Le blanchiment d'argent favorise la corruption et déstabilise l'économie des pays vulnérables. De plus, il compromet l'intégrité des institutions et des systèmes financiers légitimes et procure au crime organisé les fonds nécessaires pour entreprendre d'autres activités criminelles. C'est un problème mondial faisant appel à de nombreuses techniques spécialisées. Les progrès techniques réalisés dans le domaine du commerce électronique, la diversification mondiale des marchés financiers et les nouveaux produits financiers fournissent des occasions de plus de recycler les produits des activités criminelles et de dissimuler le parcours de l'argent provenant de ces activités.

Les techniques de blanchiment d'argent, qui varient considérablement et sont souvent très complexes, se déroulent généralement en trois étapes :

  • le placement, qui consiste à introduire les produits de la criminalité dans le système financier;
  • la dispersion, qui consiste à convertir les produits de la criminalité en une autre forme et à créer un enchevêtrement d'opérations financières dans le but de brouiller la piste de vérification et de masquer l'origine et la propriété des fonds (p. ex., l'achat et la vente d'actions, de biens et de propriétés);
  • l'intégration, qui consiste à réintroduire les bénéfices d'origine criminelle dans l'économie afin de donner aux fonds une apparence légitime.

Le renseignement financier de CANAFE joue un rôle essentiel dans la lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent. Ce renseignement financier est utilisé pour faciliter des enquêtes sur le blanchiment d'argent et le financement des activités terroristes dans le cadre d'enquêtes criminelles plus vastes où l'origine des produits présumés de la criminalité peut être liée au trafic de drogues, à la fraude, à l'évasion fiscale, à la corruption et à d'autres infractions criminelles. Ces types de crimes font des victimes, sont souvent violents et causent un réel préjudice à la société.

Date de modification :