How FINTRAC builds a case

The link chart of a money laundering case, with details changed or deleted for security and privacy reasons, demonstrates what FINTRAC includes in a case disclosure to law enforcement. The chart illustrates how complex and tangled money laundering schemes can be.

In this case, a foreign financial intelligence unit detected suspected money laundering activity linked to an import/export business and advised FINTRAC. Through analysis of transactions and other sources of information, we were able to uncover and link three separate clusters of suspicious financial transactions into a larger financial network. The more we kept digging, the more elaborate the scheme appeared. These separate financial clusters can be found on the chart and are identified in Boxes A, B and C.

FINTRAC Sanitized Money Laundering Case

Total Value of Transactions $21,207,688.48 USD and $2,269,231.73 CAD

Sanitized money laundering case
View a larger version of this image

Box A

A foreign financial intelligence unit (FIU) advised FINTRAC of a money laundering investigation of two individuals, and a business involved in the wiring of funds between accounts, within the same financial institution located in their own country. The individuals provided Canadian addresses and identification and were described as Canadian by the foreign FIU.

The foreign FIU reported that the business—referred to in the chart as Company 1 in Box A—would wire funds through several foreign reporting entities to an account at a financial institution in their country. Two Canadians held power of attorney over this account. The funds would then be further transferred to another account at the same financial institution. This account was held by the two individuals identified by the foreign FIU as Canadian. The foreign FIU deemed this whole activity suspicious. No other information could be found by the foreign FIU regarding Company 1.

After receiving the information from the foreign FIU, FINTRAC searched our database.  We found reports of financial activity involving the two individuals. We also found transactions involving Company 1, the company identified by the foreign FIU.

According to the transactions in our database, Company 1 wired several millions of dollars to multiple companies in Canada. As shown in Box A and Box B, Company 1 wired funds to Companies 2, 3, 4, and to multiple other companies, all located in Canada. One of the principal recipients of these electronic funds transfers was a business located in Canada, noted on the chart as Company 4 in Box B.

Box B

A search of open sources yielded very little information on Company 1, and nothing on Company 4. These searches were conducted to obtain contextual information on the nature of these businesses, and to assess what might be the underlying business relationship or rationale for these transactions.

We found no open source information on Company 4 in the way of advertising, telephone directory information, or a company website. However, we were able to confirm that this company was incorporated in Canada.

As a result of our analysis of the financial transactions involving Company 4, we found a suspicious transaction report filed by a Canadian financial institution. The reporting institution reported to FINTRAC activity it deemed suspicious with regard to the business accounts held by Company 4. The reporting entity stated:

As a result of the information provided by the reporting entity, we conducted further research on the potential business relationship between Company 1 and Company 4, now identified as an import/export business.  We found that Company 1 was not in the business of purchasing or selling the product it purported to, nor to anything remotely associated with that industry. Therefore, the level of financial activity conducted between Company 1 and Company 4 was suspect and required further attention.

Through further analysis, we also found two other companies operating at the same address as Company 4.  They are Companies 5 and 6 and they form part of the second cluster of financial transactions found in Box B.  In fact, when an address for one business changed, so did the addresses for the other businesses. The addresses for these three companies changed three times over a four-year period.

Wire transfers received by Company 5 were received from the same foreign country with weak anti-money laundering controls. We found that Company 5 and Company 6 shared the same director.

Company 7, located in the center of the chart, is the financial link between the three clusters of financial activity making up the larger network.

Company 7 sent wire transfers to Company 4. Company 7 also sent wire transfers to an account held by two individuals in Canada. Company 7 sent wire transfers to Company 2, which was also a recipient of wire transfers from Company 1.

Box C

Following a search of our transactional database on Company 7, we found a suspicious transaction report filed by another Canadian reporting entity on the two individuals in Canada identified in the lower right corner of the chart in Box C. The STR was submitted as a result of the suspicions raised regarding the activity of the accounts held by the two individuals. The reporting entity stated that:

Over a period of five months, the two individuals received fourteen wire transfers from four different companies, Company 7 being one of them. Attempts were made to contact the individuals, but their mail was returned and the phone number provided was incorrect. The reporting entity wanted to question the couple regarding the recent financial activity involving their accounts. The reporting entity refused the receipt of several wire transfers for the couple. As a result, one of the Canadians appeared at the reporting entity and claimed that the funds were owed to him from his business overseas.

When asked about the wires received from the various foreign companies, he did not know the companies or why they were sending the payments. It is unusual for a customer to receive funds from multiple businesses and not be able to identify the businesses or why funds were being sent. It is also unusual for a new customer not to come to the financial institution over a seven-month period.

We also received voluntary information from a Canadian law enforcement agency on the two individuals in Canada. It was suspected that they were using their personal accounts to launder the proceeds of crime.

Date Modified:

Comment CANAFE constitue un cas

Le tableau de liens illustrant le cas épuré de blanchiment d'argent, dont les détails ont été modifiés ou supprimés pour des raisons de sécurité et de protection, illustre les renseignements que CANAFE communique aux organismes d'application de la loi. Il montre à quel point les réseaux de blanchiment d'argent peuvent être complexes et enchevêtrés.

Dans ce cas, une unité du renseignement financier étrangère a détecté un cas de blanchiment d'argent lié à une affaire d'importation/exportation et elle en a informé CANAFE. En analysant les opérations ainsi que l'information provenant d'autres sources, nous avons été en mesure de découvrir et de relier trois groupes distincts d'opérations financières en un réseau plus vaste. Plus notre analyse était approfondie, plus le réseau paraissait élaboré. Les groupes d'opérations financières distincts se trouvent dans le diagramme et ils sont identifiés dans les boîtes A, B et C.

Cas épuré de blanchiment d'argent de CANAFE

Valeur totale des opérations 21 207 688,48 $US et 2 269 231,73 $CAN

Cas épuré de blanchiment d'argent
Voir une plus grande version de cette image

Boîte A

Une unité du renseignement financier (URF) étrangère a informé CANAFE que deux personnes et une entreprise, effectuant des télévirements entre différents comptes, dans une même institution financière dans leur pays d'origine, faisaient l'objet d'une enquête sur le blanchiment d'argent. Les personnes en question avaient fourni des adresses et des documents d'identification canadiens et étaient décrites comme étant des citoyens canadiens par l'URF étrangère.

L'URF étrangère a déclaré que l'entreprise — que l'on appelle l'entreprise 1 dans la boîte A — effectuait des télévirements, par l'intermédiaire de plusieurs entités déclarantes étrangères, dans un compte se trouvant dans une institution financière de son pays. Deux des citoyens canadiens avaient des procurations pour ce compte. Les fonds étaient ensuite transférés dans un autre compte, dans la même institution financière. Le compte était détenu par les deux personnes identifiées comme étant des citoyens canadiens par l'URF étrangère. L'unité du renseignement financier étrangère considérait que cette activité soulevait des soupçons. Elle n'a pu trouver aucune autre information concernant l'entreprise 1.

Après avoir été informé par l'URF étrangère, CANAFE a effectué une recherche dans sa base de données. Nous avons pu trouver des déclarations d'activités financières auxquelles avaient participé les deux personnes en question. Nous avons également découvert des opérations concernant l'entreprise 1 identifiée par l'URF étrangère.

Selon les opérations découvertes dans notre base de données, l'entreprise 1 avait effectué des télévirements de plusieurs millions de dollars destinés à différentes entreprises au Canada. Comme le montrent les boîtes A et B, l'entreprise 1 avait transféré des fonds aux entreprises 2, 3 et 4 et à de multiples entreprises se trouvant au Canada. Un des principaux destinataires de ces télévirements était une entreprise située au Canada, l'entreprise 4, qui se trouve dans la boîte B.

Boîte B

Une recherche effectuée dans des sources ouvertes n'a permis de recueillir que très peu de renseignements sur l'entreprise 1, et n'a rien donné sur l'entreprise 4. Ces recherches ont été effectuées pour obtenir de l'information contextuelle sur la nature de ces entreprises et pour établir les relations d'affaires sous-jacentes entre elles ou les raisons de ces opérations.

Nous n'avons trouvé aucune information dans les sources ouvertes au sujet de l'entreprise 4, ni annonce, ni mention dans un annuaire téléphonique, ni site Web. Toutefois, nous avons été en mesure de confirmer que cette entreprise avait été constituée en personne morale au Canada.

Grâce à notre analyse des opérations financières concernant l'entreprise 4, nous avons découvert une déclaration d'opérations douteuses (DOD) transmise par une entité déclarante canadienne. L'entité avait déclaré à CANAFE des activités qu'elle estimait douteuses dans les comptes d'affaires de l'entreprise 4.  L'entité déclarante avait affirmé que :

Grâce aux renseignements fournis par l'entité déclarante, nous avons poursuivi nos recherches pour découvrir un lien d'affaires possible entre l'entreprise 1 et l'entreprise 4, désormais identifiée comme une entreprise d'importation/exportation. Nous avons découvert que l'entreprise 1 n'achetait ni ne vendait le produit comme elle le prétendait et n'était reliée d'aucune façon à ce secteur. Par conséquent, le niveau d'activité financière qui avait lieu entre l'entreprise 1 et l'entreprise 4 était douteux et nécessitait une étude plus approfondie.

Nos analyses plus poussées nous ont permis de découvrir deux autres entreprises qui étaient exploitées à la même adresse que l'entreprise 4. Ces entreprises, 5 et 6, forment le deuxième groupe d'opérations financières que l'on retrouve dans la boîte B. En fait, lorsque l'adresse d'une de ces entreprises changeait, l'adresse des autres entreprises changeait également. Les adresses ont changé trois fois au cours d'une période de quatre ans.

Les télévirements reçus par l'entreprise 5 provenaient du même pays étranger doté de mesures de lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent peu rigoureuses. Nous avons également découvert que les entreprises 5 et 6 avaient le même directeur.

L'entreprise 7, qui se trouve au centre du diagramme, est le lien financier qui relie les trois groupes distincts d'opérations financières qui constituent le réseau dans son ensemble.

L'entreprise 7 virait des fonds vers l'entreprise 4. l'entreprise 7 virait également des fonds dans un compte appartenant aux deux personnes se trouvant au Canada. l'entreprise 7 transférait également des fonds à l'entreprise 2, qui recevait également des télévirements de l'entreprise 1.

Boîte C

Après avoir effectué une recherche dans notre base de données concernant l'entreprise 7, nous avons découvert une déclaration d'opérations douteuses effectuée par une autre entité déclarante canadienne au sujet des deux personnes au Canada qui se trouvent dans le coin inférieur droit du diagramme, dans la boîte C. La DOD avait été transmise suite à des soupçons au sujet du mouvement des comptes que détenaient les deux personnes. L'entité déclarante avait précisé ce qui suit :

Au cours d'une période de cinq mois, les deux personnes ont reçu 14 télévirements de quatre entreprises différentes, dont l'entreprise 7. Des efforts avaient été déployés afin de communiquer avec ces personnes, mais le courrier avait été retourné et le numéro de téléphone était inexact. L'entité déclarante voulait poser des questions au couple au sujet des récentes activités financières inscrites dans leurs comptes. L'entité déclarante avait refusé d'accepter plusieurs télévirements pour le couple. Un des deux Canadiens s'était alors rendu à l'entité déclarante et avait déclaré que les fonds lui étaient dus et provenaient de son entreprise à l'étranger.

À la question posée sur les télévirements reçus de différentes entreprises étrangères, il avait dit ne pas connaître les entreprises et les raisons pour lesquelles elles effectuaient des paiements. Il est inhabituel qu'un client reçoive des sommes de différentes entreprises qu'il ne connaît pas ou pour des raisons qu'il ignore. Il est également inhabituel qu'un nouveau client ne se présente pas à l'institution financière pendant une période de sept mois.

Nous avons également reçu des renseignements transmis volontairement par un organisme canadien d'application de la loi au sujet des deux personnes se trouvant au Canada. On les soupçonnait d'utiliser leurs comptes personnels pour recycler des produits de la criminalité.

Date de modification :