Threats to the security of Canada

FINTRAC's role is to provide CSIS with financial intelligence to assist that agency in fulfilling its mandate of investigating threats to the security of Canada. Threats to the security of Canada are defined in the Canadian Security Intelligence Service Act as:

  1. espionage or sabotage that is against Canada or is detrimental to the interests of Canada or activities directed toward or in support of such espionage or sabotage;

  2. foreign influenced activities within or relating to Canada that are detrimental to the interests of Canada and are clandestine or deceptive, or involve a threat to any person;

  3. activities within or relating to Canada directed toward or in support of the threat or use of acts of serious violence against persons or property for the purpose of achieving a political, religious or ideological objective within Canada or a foreign state; and,

  4. activities directed toward undermining by covert unlawful acts, or directed toward or intended ultimately to lead to the destruction or overthrow by violence of the constitutionally established system of government in Canada,

but does not include lawful advocacy, protest or dissent, unless carried on in conjunction with any of the activities referred to in paragraphs (a) to (d).

Date Modified:

Menaces à la sécurité du Canada

Le rôle de CANAFE est de fournir des renseignements financiers au SCRS afin d'aider cet organisme à remplir son mandat qui est d'enquêter sur les menaces envers la sécurité du Canada. Ces menaces sont définies dans la Loi sur le Service du renseignement de sécurité comme:

  1. l'espionnage ou le sabotage visant le Canada ou préjudiciables à ses intérêts, ainsi que les activités tendant à favoriser ce genre d'espionnage ou de sabotage;

  2. les activités influencées par l'étranger qui touchent le Canada ou s'y déroulent et sont préjudiciables à ses intérêts, et qui sont d'une nature clandestine ou trompeuse ou comportent des menaces envers quiconque;

  3. les activités qui touchent le Canada ou s'y déroulent et visent à favoriser l'usage de la violence grave ou de menaces de violence contre des personnes ou des biens dans le but d'atteindre un objectif politique, religieux ou idéologique au Canada ou dans un État étranger;

  4. les activités qui, par des actions cachées et illicites, visent à saper le régime de gouvernement constitutionnellement établi au Canada ou dont le but immédiat ou ultime est sa destruction ou son renversement, par la violence.

La présente définition n'inclut pas les activités licites de défense d'une cause, de protestation ou de manifestation d'un désaccord qui n'ont aucun lien avec les activités mentionnées aux paragraphes a) à d).

Date de modification :