Guidance

Individuals and entities that are designated as reporting entities under the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA) have certain obligations to fulfill. FINTRAC is responsible for ensuring compliance with the Act and its associated Regulations, and provides guidance on how individuals and entities can incorporate these obligations into their operations.

FINTRAC has re-organized guidance on the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA) and associated Regulations. This page now directs you to all FINTRAC guidance as well as additional information such as policy interpretations and operational alerts. The Reporting entity section now directs you to guidance specific to your business sector.

Please direct questions to guidelines-lignesdirectrices@canafe-fintrac.gc.ca.

Overview and interpretation

Background information on FINTRAC and its role in detecting and deterring money laundering in Canada, as well as how FINTRAC conducts examinations to ensure compliance with the legislation. This section also provides technical interpretations of questions related to the PCMLTFA and its associated Regulations.

Compliance program requirements

A documented and comprehensive compliance program is the basis of meeting all of your obligations under the PCMLTFA and its associated Regulations.

Know your client requirements

Reporting entities must verify the identity of their clients for certain activities and transactions according to the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Regulations (PCMLTFR).

Transactions reporting requirements

Reporting entities are required to complete reports about certain transactions and property and submit them to FINTRAC. Financial transaction reports are critical to FINTRAC’s ability to develop and disseminate financial intelligence.

Record keeping requirements

You are responsible for keeping certain account, transaction and client identification records. These records are to be kept in such a way that they can be provided to FINTRAC within 30 days upon request.

Correspondent banking relationship requirements

If your business enters into a correspondent banking relationship with a foreign financial institution, you have specific obligations related to this agreement.

Foreign branches, subsidiaries and affiliates requirements

If you have foreign branches, foreign subsidiaries or affiliates, you have to develop policies to establish requirements with respect to record keeping and retention, and client identification.

Register your money services business (MSB)

Before beginning to operate in Canada, you must register your money services business (MSB) with FINTRAC.

Penalties for non-compliance

Failure to comply with your record keeping or client identification requirements can lead to criminal charges against you. A conviction of failure to retain records could lead to up to five years imprisonment, a fine of up to $500,000, or both. Alternatively, failure to keep records or identify individuals and confirm the existence of entities can lead to an administrative monetary penalty. For more information on penalties, you can also consult the Penalties for non-compliance.

Date Modified:

Directives

Les personnes et les entités désignées comme étant des entités déclarantes en vertu de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (la Loi) ont certaines obligations à respecter. CANAFE doit s’assurer de la conformité à la Loi et à ses règlements connexes, et fournit des directives aux personnes et aux entités sur la façon d’intégrer ces obligations à leurs activités.

CANAFE a réorganisé ses directives relatives à la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes et aux règlements connexes. La présente page contient des liens vers les directives de CANAFE et d’autres renseignements, par exemple des interprétations de politiques et des alertes opérationnelles. La section des entités déclarantes vous permet maintenant d’accéder directement aux directives propres à votre secteur d’activité.

Veuillez faire parvenir toute question à l’adresse suivante : guidelines-lignesdirectrices@canafe-fintrac.gc.ca.

Aperçu et interprétation

Renseignements généraux sur CANAFE et son rôle en matière de détection et de prévention du blanchiment d’argent au Canada, ainsi que sur les examens réalisés par CANAFE pour veiller à la conformité à la législation. La section présente également des interprétations techniques sur des questions liées à la Loi et à ses règlements connexes.

Exigences relatives au programme de conformité

Un programme de conformité complet et efficace constitue la base sur laquelle vous appuyer pour remplir toutes vos obligations en vertu de la Loi et de ses règlements connexes.

Exigences relatives au besoin de bien connaître son client

Les entités déclarantes doivent vérifier l’identité des clients dans le cas de certaines activités et opérations, conformément au Règlement sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (le Règlement).

Exigences en matière de déclaration des opérations

Les entités déclarantes doivent remplir et soumettre à CANAFE des déclarations sur certaines opérations et sur certains biens. Les déclarations d’opérations financières sont essentielles pour permettre à CANAFE d’élaborer et de communiquer des renseignements financiers.

Exigences en matière de tenue de documents

Il vous incombe de tenir des documents sur certaines opérations, sur les comptes et sur l’identité des clients. Vos documents doivent être tenus de façon à pouvoir être remis à CANAFE dans les 30 jours suivant une demande.

Exigences en matière de relation de correspondant bancaire

Si votre organisation établit une relation de correspondant bancaire avec une institution financière étrangère, vous avez des obligations particulières liées à cette entente.

Exigences relatives aux succursales étrangères, aux filiales étrangères et aux entités du même groupe

Si vous avez des succursales étrangères, des filiales étrangères ou des entités du même groupe, vous devez élaborer des politiques pour établir des obligations relatives à la tenue et à la conservation de documents, et à la vérification de l’identité des clients.

Inscrire votre entreprise de services monétaires (ESM)

Avant de commencer à exploiter une entreprise de services monétaires (ESM) au Canada, vous devez l’inscrire auprès de CANAFE.

Pénalités pour les cas de non-conformité

Si vous ne respectez pas les obligations de tenue de documents ou de vérification de l'identité des clients, vous vous exposez à des accusations criminelles. Quiconque contrevient aux obligations de tenue de documents est passible, sur déclaration de culpabilité, d'une peine d’emprisonnement maximale de cinq ans et d'une amende maximale de 500 000 $, ou de l'une de ces peines. Autrement, si vous ne respectez pas les obligations de tenue de documents ou de vérification de l'identité des clients, vous vous exposez à une pénalité administrative pécuniaire. Pour plus de renseignements sur les pénalités, vous pouvez également consulter les Pénalités pour les cas de non-conformité.

Date de modification :