When to identify individuals and confirm the existence of entities – Casinos

June 2017

This guidance on client identification is applicable to casinos that are subject to the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA) and associated Regulations.

Details on how to identify individuals and confirm the existence of entities is available in FINTRAC’s guidance Methods to identify individuals and confirm the existence of entities.

Throughout this guidance, references to dollar amounts (such as $10,000) are in Canadian dollars. Furthermore, all references to cash mean money in circulation in any country (bank notes or coins) and do not include cheques, money orders or other similar negotiable instruments.

The Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Regulations (PCMLTFR) specify when you must identify an individual or confirm the existence of an entity, and how you must do this. The point at which you identify a client will vary depending on the activity or transaction that is carried out. Knowing your clients includes identifying them in accordance with the Regulations, but you also have further obligations in this regard, such as requirements related to the ongoing monitoring of business relationships and third party determination. Please refer to FINTRAC’s guidance on these subjects for more information.

**Note: Exceptions to your client identification requirements are listed in the last section of this guidance.

Identifying clients

As a casino, you must identify individuals and confirm the existence of entities for certain activities and transactions, as listed below. Entities can be corporations, trusts, partnerships, funds, and unincorporated associations or organizations.

When you have to confirm the existence of an entity that is a corporation, you also have to verify its name and address, and the names of the corporation’s directors.

The formation of business relationships and the ensuing obligations are tied to your requirements to identify clients. You are in a business relationship with every individual or entity that holds an account with you. For non-account-based relationships, you are considered to be in a business relationship with every individual you have had to identify at least twice, and with every entity whose existence you have had to confirm at least twice. If you have not identified an individual or confirmed the existence of an entity because an exception applied, you are still considered to be in a business relationship and must conduct ongoing monitoring and keep certain records.

You are also required to take reasonable measures to determine if a client is acting on the instruction of a third party when opening an account or conducting a large cash transaction. In this case, reasonable measures may include asking the individual, or relying on information you may already have about the individual. If you determine that the individual in front of you is acting on someone else's instructions, that “someone else” is the third party.

As a casino, you are responsible for identifying clients for:

  1. Account openings and signature card creations
  2. Extension of credit of $3,000 or more
  3. Foreign currency exchange of $3,000 or more
  4. Remittance or transmission of $1,000 or more
  5. Casino disbursements
  6. Large cash transactions
  7. Suspicious transactions

1. Account openings and signature card creations

You must identify all individuals that you create a signature card for in relation to an account that you open. A signature card is a document signed by an individual authorized to give instructions on an account, or electronic data that constitutes a signature. It can include the hand written signature of an individual or an electronic signature that is created or adopted by an individual. The electronic signature can be numeric, character-based, or biometric as long as it is unique to the individual and a record can be kept. This must be done before any funds are disbursed.

When you open an account for an entity, you must:

This must be done before the first transaction is carried out on the account, other than the initial deposit.

When you open a business account, you do not have to identify every individual for whom you create a signature card if you have created a signature card for more than three individuals and have identified at least three of these individuals. These individuals must be identified before any funds are disbursed from the account.

When opening a new account, if you cannot identify an individual or confirm the existence of an entity, you cannot open the account.

2. Extension of credit of $3,000 or more

If you extend credit to a client for $3,000 or more, you must identify the individual who conducts the transaction with you, at the time the transaction takes place.

3. Foreign currency exchange of $3,000 or more

For a foreign currency exchange of $3,000 or more you must identify the individual conducting the transaction at the time the transaction takes place.

4. Remittance or transmission of $1,000 or more

When you remit or transmit $1,000 or more, you have to identify the individual who makes the request at the time the transaction takes place.

For example, when you send an electronic funds transfer (EFT) of $1,000 or more, you must identify the individual who makes the request at the time the transaction takes place. An EFT means the transmission of instructions, through any electronic, magnetic or optical device, telephone instrument or computer, for the transfer of funds to or from Canada.

If you transmit funds as an EFT of any amount at the request of a client, including an EFT sent within Canada that is a SWIFT MT 103 message, you must include the originator information.

If you receive an EFT of any amount, including an EFT sent within Canada that is a SWIFT MT 103 message, you must take reasonable measures to ensure it includes the originator information. In this context, reasonable measures may include contacting the institution that sent the payment instructions.

5. Casino disbursements

You must identify every individual who receives a casino disbursement at the time the transaction takes place. A casino disbursement is any payout, whether in cash or not, of $10,000 or more for the following transactions:

A casino disbursement also includes two or more disbursements of less than $10,000 each that total $10,000 or more within a 24-hour period, when you know that the disbursements are received by, or on behalf of, the same individual or entity.

6. Large cash transactions

You must identify every individual who conducts a large cash transaction at the time the transaction takes place. A large cash transaction occurs when you receive $10,000 or more in cash in a single transaction. A large cash transaction also occurs when there are multiple cash transactions of less than $10,000 each that total $10,000 or more within a 24-hour period, when you know they are conducted by, or on behalf of, the same individual or entity.

7. Suspicious transactions

You must take reasonable measures to identify an individual who conducts or attempts to conduct a suspicious transaction before sending a Suspicious Transaction Report. Reasonable measures in this case may include asking the individual to provide photo identification.

All suspicious transactions and attempted suspicious transactions, including transactions that are normally exempt from client identification requirements, require you to take reasonable measures to identify your clients.

Keeping client identification information up to date

You must update client information at a frequency that will vary based on your risk assessment. As part of your ongoing monitoring requirements, you must keep all client identification information up to date. High-risk clients’ identification information must be updated more frequently, and you must take any other appropriate enhanced measures.

To keep client identification information up to date, you must take measures such as asking the client to provide information to confirm or update their identification information. In the case of an individual, this may also include confirming or updating the information by using the options that are available to identify individuals who are not physically present.

In the case of clients that are entities, measures to keep client identification information up to date may include consulting a paper or electronic record or obtaining information verbally.

Exceptions

You do not have to re-identify an individual or re-confirm the existence of an entity if you previously did so using the methods specified in the Regulations in place at the time and kept the associated records, so long as you have no doubts about the information used.

If an individual has an account with you, you do not have to re-identify the individual again if subsequent accounts are opened.

You do not need to verify the names of the directors when you confirm the existence of a corporation that is a securities dealer.

You do not have to identify an individual or confirm the existence of an entity when you undertake the following activities for a public body or very large corporation:

The same is true regarding a subsidiary of either of those types of entities, if the financial statements of the subsidiary are consolidated with those of the public body or very large corporation.

You do not have to identify an individual who conducts a large cash transaction if the cash is received from a financial entity or public body.

You do not have to take reasonable measures to identify the individual who conducts or attempts to conduct a suspicious transaction only if:

Date Modified:

À quel moment vérifier l’identité des personnes et confirmer l’existence des entités – Casinos

Juin 2017

La présente directive sur la vérification de l’identité des clients s’applique aux casinos assujettis à la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (la Loi) et aux règlements connexes.

Vous pouvez obtenir d’autres informations sur la façon de vérifier l’identité des personnes et de confirmer l’existence des entités dans la directive de CANAFE intitulée Méthodes pour vérifier l’identité des personnes et confirmer l’existence des entités.

Lorsqu’il est question de montants en dollars (par exemple 10 000 $) dans la présente directive, il s’agit de montants en dollars canadiens. De plus, on entend par espèces de l’argent comptant en circulation dans un pays donné (billets de banque ou monnaie) et non des chèques, des mandats-poste ou d’autres titres négociables semblables.

Le Règlement sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (le Règlement) précise à quel moment vous devez vérifier l’identité d’une personne et comment vous devez le faire. Le moment où vous devez vérifier l’identité d’un client variera selon l’activité ou l’opération effectuée par votre client. Pour bien connaître votre client, vous devez vérifier son identité conformément au Règlement, en plus de respecter les obligations s’appliquant au contrôle continu des relations d’affaires, et à la détermination quant aux tiers.

Veuillez consulter les directives de CANAFE portant sur ces sujets pour en savoir plus.

**Remarque: La dernière partie de la présente directive contient une liste des exceptions s’appliquant à vos obligations en matière de vérification de l’identité des clients.

Vérification de l’identité des clients

À titre de casino, vous devez vérifier l’identité d’une personne et confirmer l’existence d’une entité dans le cadre de certaines activités et opérations, lesquelles sont énumérées ci-après. On entend par entité une personne morale, une fiducie, une société de personnes ou un fonds, et une association ou une organisation non dotée de la personne morale.

Lorsque vous devez confirmer l’existence d’une entité qui est une personne morale, vous devez aussi vérifier sa dénomination sociale et son adresse, ainsi que les noms de ses administrateurs.

L’établissement d’une relation d’affaires et les obligations connexes sont liés aux exigences en matière de vérification de l’identité des clients. Vous avez établi une relation d’affaires avec toute personne ou entité qui détient un compte chez vous. Pour les relations sans rapport avec un compte, vous établissez une relation d’affaires avec toute personne pour laquelle vous êtes tenu de vérifier l’identité au moins à deux reprises et avec toute entité pour laquelle vous êtes tenu de confirmer l’existence au moins à deux reprises. Si vous n’avez pas vérifié l’identité d’une personne ou confirmé l’existence d’une entité parce qu’une exception s’appliquait, vous êtes tout de même réputé avoir établi une relation d’affaires et devez effectuer un contrôle continu et conserver certains documents.

Vous devez aussi prendre des mesures raisonnables pour établir si le client agit selon les instructions d’un tiers lorsque vous ouvrez un compte ou effectuez une opération importante en espèces. Dans ce cas, les mesures raisonnables peuvent comprendre le fait de demander à la personne si elle agit pour le compte d’un tiers ou de vous fier aux renseignements que vous avez déjà à votre disposition à l’égard de la personne. Si vous déterminez que la personne devant vous agit selon les instructions d’une autre personne, cette « autre personne » est le tiers.

À titre de casino, il vous appartient de vérifier l’identité des clients dans les cas suivants :

  1. ouverture de comptes et création de fiches-signatures;
  2. octroi de crédit de 3 000 $ ou plus;
  3. opérations de change de 3 000 $ ou plus;
  4. remise ou transmission de 1 000 $ ou plus;
  5. déboursements de casino;
  6. opérations importantes en espèces;
  7. opérations douteuses.

1. Ouverture de comptes et création de fiches-signatures

Vous devez vérifier l’identité de toutes les personnes pour lesquelles vous créez une fiche-signature relativement à l’ouverture d’un compte. Une fiche-signature est un document signé par une personne qui est habilitée à donner des instructions relativement à un compte, ou des données électroniques constituant la signature d'une telle personne. Une fiche-signature peut comprendre la signature manuscrite d’une personne ou une signature électronique créée ou adoptée par la personne. Une signature électronique peut être fondée sur des chiffres, des caractères ou des données biométriques, dans la mesure où elle est propre à la personne et qu’il est possible de conserver un document. La fiche-signature doit être créée avant tout déboursement de fonds.

Lorsque vous ouvrez un compte pour une entité, vous devez :

Vous devez réaliser toutes ces activités avant que soit effectuée la première opération dans le compte, à l’exception du dépôt initial.

Lorsque vous ouvrez un compte d’affaires, vous n’êtes pas tenu de vérifier l’identité de toutes les personnes pour qui vous avez créé une fiche-signature si vous avez déjà créé une fiche-signature pour plus de trois personnes et vérifié l’identité d’au moins trois d’entre elles. Vous devez vérifier l’identité de ces personnes avant  tout déboursement de fonds à même le compte.

Si vous n’êtes pas en mesure de vérifier l’identité d’une personne ou de confirmer l’existence d’une entité au moment d’ouvrir un compte, vous ne pouvez pas l’ouvrir.

2. Octroi de crédit de 3 000 $ ou plus

Si vous accordez un crédit de 3 000 $ ou plus à un client, vous devez vérifier l’identité de la personne pour qui vous effectuez l’opération et ce, au moment de l’opération.

3. Opérations de change de 3 000 $ ou plus

Vous devez vérifier l’identité de la personne qui effectue une opération de change de 3 000 $ ou plus, et ce, au moment de l’opération.

4. Remise ou transmission de 1 000 $ ou plus

Lorsque vous effectuez une remise ou une transmission de 1 000 $ ou plus, vous devez vérifier l’identité de la personne qui en a fait la demande, et ce, au moment de l’opération.

Par exemple, lorsque vous transmettez un télévirement de 1 000 $ ou plus, vous devez vérifier l’identité de la personne qui en a fait la demande, et ce, au moment de l’opération. Un télévirement s’entend de la transmission d’instructions, par voie électronique, magnétique ou optique ou au moyen d’un appareil téléphonique ou d’un ordinateur,  pour un transfert de fonds en provenance ou à destination du Canada.

Si vous transmettez des fonds par télévirement à la demande d’un client, peu importe le montant, y compris un télévirement transmis à l’intérieur du Canada au moyen d’un message SWIFT MT 103, vous devez inscrire les renseignements relatifs au demandeur.

Si vous recevez un télévirement, y compris un télévirement transmis à l’intérieur du Canada au moyen d’un message SWIFT MT 103, quel qu’en soit le montant, vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour veiller à ce qu’il contienne les renseignements relatifs au demandeur. En pareil cas, les mesures raisonnables peuvent comprendre communiquer avec l’institution qui a envoyé les instructions de paiement.

5. Déboursements de casino

Vous devez vérifier l’identité de toute personne qui reçoit un déboursement de casino, et ce, au moment de l’opération. On entend par déboursement de casino un paiement, en espèces ou autre, d’une somme de 10 000 $ ou plus dans le cadre de l’une ou l’autre des opérations suivantes :

Un déboursement de casino peut aussi comprendre deux déboursements ou plus de moins de 10 000 $ chacun, totalisant 10 000$ ou plus au cours d’une période de 24 heures, si vous savez que les sommes déboursées sont reçues par une seule personne ou entité ou pour son compte.

6. Opérations importantes en espèces

Vous devez vérifier l’identité de toute personne qui effectue une opération importante en espèces, et ce, au moment de l’opération. Une opération importante en espèces s’entend de la réception de 10 000 $ ou plus en espèces au cours d’une seule opération. Une opération importante en espèces s’entend également de plusieurs opérations en espèces de moins de 10 000 $ chacune, mais totalisant 10 000 $ ou plus au cours d’une période de 24 heures, lorsque vous savez qu’elles ont été effectuées par une seule personne ou entité ou pour son compte.

7. Opérations douteuses

Vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour vérifier l’identité d’une personne qui effectue ou tente d’effectuer une opération douteuse avant de soumettre une déclaration d’opérations douteuses. En pareil cas, les mesures raisonnables peuvent comprendre le fait de demander à la personne de fournir une pièce d’identité avec photo.

Vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour vérifier l’identité de vos clients pour toutes les opérations douteuses et les tentatives d’opération douteuse, y compris les opérations pour lesquelles une exception aux exigences de vérification de l’identité des clients s’applique habituellement.

Tenue à jour des renseignements relatifs à l’identité du client

La fréquence à laquelle vous mettrez à jour les renseignements sur le client dépendra de votre évaluation des risques. Dans le cadre de vos exigences en matière de contrôle continu, vous devez tenir à jour tous les renseignements relatifs à l’identité de vos clients. Vous devez mettre à jour plus souvent les renseignements relatifs à l’identité des clients présentant un risque élevé et prendre toute autre mesure accrue qui s’impose.

Pour mettre à jour les renseignements relatifs à l’identité des clients, vous devez prendre des mesures comme demander au client de fournir des renseignements pour confirmer ou mettre à jour ses renseignements d’identification. Dans le cas d’une personne, il peut s’agir de confirmer ou de mettre à jour les renseignements au moyen des méthodes mises à votre disposition pour vérifier l’identité d’une personne en l’absence de celle-ci.

Pour mettre à jour les renseignements relatifs aux clients qui sont des entités, vous pouvez, entre autres, consulter un document sur support papier ou électronique, ou obtenir les renseignements de vive voix.

Exceptions

Si vous avez déjà vérifié l’identité d’une personne ou confirmé l’existence d’une entité au moyen des méthodes énoncées dans le Règlement qui étaient en vigueur au moment où vous l’avez fait et que vous avez conservé les documents pertinents, vous n’êtes pas tenu de le faire de nouveau si vous n’avez aucun doute quant aux renseignements utilisés.

Si une personne détient déjà un compte auprès de votre organisation, vous n’êtes pas tenu de revérifier son identité lorsqu’elle ouvre un nouveau compte chez vous.

Vous n’êtes pas tenu de vérifier les noms des administrateurs lorsque vous confirmez l’existence d’une personne morale qui est un courtier en valeurs mobilières.

Vous n’êtes pas tenu de vérifier l’identité d’une personne ou de confirmer l’existence d’une entité lorsque vous exercez les activités suivantes pour le compte d’un organisme public ou d’une personne morale dont l’actif est très important :

Il en est de même pour une filiale de ce type d’entité, si les états financiers de la filiale et de l’organisme public ou de la personne morale dont l’actif est très important sont consolidés.

Vous n’êtes pas tenu de vérifier l’identité d’une personne qui effectue une opération importante en espèces si vous recevez les fonds d’une entité financière ou d’un organisme public.

Vous n’êtes pas tenu de prendre de mesures raisonnables pour vérifier l’identité d’une personne qui effectue ou tente d’effectuer une opération douteuse uniquement si :

Date de modification :