Third party determination requirements

Third party requirements under the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA) and associated Regulations.

June 2017

Third party determination

A third party is a person or entity who instructs another person or entity to conduct an activity or financial transaction on their behalf. When you are determining whether a third party is giving instructions, it is not about who owns or benefits from the money, or who is carrying out the transaction or activity, but rather about who gives the instructions to handle the money or conduct a transaction or particular activity. If you determine that the individual in front of you is acting on someone else's instructions, that someone else is the third party. For example, Jim is the third party when he asks Alice to wire $12,000 to a business account held by company ABC in country A.

When a person is acting on behalf of their employer, the employer is considered to be the third party, unless the person is making a cash deposit to the employer’s business account.

The PCMLTFA and associated Regulations require that you take reasonable measures to make a third party determination for certain transactions and activities. Once you have made that determination you must identify and record the third party involved in any transaction you report to FINTRAC.

The Financial Action Task Force (FATF), FINTRAC, Egmont and other anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing authoritative bodies have observed the use of third parties in several money laundering and terrorist financing cases. It is not uncommon for criminals to use third parties as a method to evade detection by distancing themselves from the proceeds of crime.

How to make a third party determination?

You must take reasonable measures to determine if there is a third party who is instructing your client to conduct an activity or a transaction.

Reasonable measures include asking your client if they are acting on someone else’s instructions, or by retrieving the information already contained in your records. The steps you take to make a third party determination must be documented in your compliance policies and procedures.

When do you have to make a third party determination?

There are situations that would require you to make a third party determination. In all four cases, you must take reasonable measures to determine if there is a third party to a transaction or an activity. These situations occur when you must:

  1. keep a large cash transaction record
  2. keep a signature card or an account operating agreement
  3. keep a client information record
  4. submit a casino disbursement report

1. Large cash transaction record

When a large cash transaction is conducted you have to keep a large cash transaction record, and you must take reasonable measures to determine whether the individual who gives you the cash is acting on the instructions of a third party, at the time of the transaction. If you have made a positive determination, you must include the third party information in the Large Cash Transaction Report or in any other transaction report you send to FINTRAC, such as a Suspicious Transaction Report (STR). Third party information must be recorded as part your large cash transaction record.

2. Signature card or account operating agreement

When do I have to make a third party determination for an account opening?

When you open an account and create a signature card or an account operating agreement, you must take reasonable measures to determine whether the account is to be used by, or on behalf of, a third party. These measures must be taken at the time that the account is opened.

For example, if an account is opened in an individual's name but the account activity will be directed by someone else, that someone else is the third party. As another example, parents who decide to open an education savings account for their child would not be acting on the instructions of the child therefore there is no third party in this case.

Sectors that have obligations to keep account opening records include financial entities, securities dealers, and casinos. Please refer to the record keeping guidance for your respective sector for more information on this requirement.

Are there any exceptions to making a third party determination when opening an account?

Yes. There are scenarios where the third party determination does not need to be made when opening an account:

3. Client information record

When you create a client information record, you must take reasonable measures to determine if the client is acting on behalf of a third party. These measures must be taken at the time the client information record is created.

Sectors that have obligations related to keeping client information records include life insurance, real estate, money service businesses and agents of the Crown. Please refer to the record keeping guidance for your respective sector for more information on this requirement.

4. Casino disbursement report

When a casino is required to report a disbursement of $10,000 or more, it must take reasonable measures to determine whether the person receiving the disbursement is acting on behalf of a third party.

What records must be kept in relation to third party determinations?

You must keep third party records for the following activities:

  1. A large cash transaction
  2. An account opening
  3. A client information record
  4. A casino disbursement

If you determine that the person in front of you is acting on the instructions of a third party, you must keep a record of:

The nature of the relationship between your client and a third party can include for example, an accountant, agent, legal counsel, borrower, broker, customer, employee, friend or relative.

You must keep records in relation to third party determination for at least five years following the date they were created.

What if you are unable to make a third party determination?

If you have reasonable grounds to suspect that your client is acting on behalf of a third party, but are unable to make a third party determination, you will have to record the following information:

The steps you take to make a third party determination must be included in your compliance policies and procedures.

If you were unsuccessful in determining whether a client was acting on behalf of a third party, but there are reasonable grounds to suspect that a third party is instructing your client you must record:

Are there any exceptions to the record keeping requirement for a third party determination?

Yes. There are exceptions to the record-keeping requirement when opening an account. A third party determination has to be made to open the account, but the third party determination record is not required if:

These exceptions exist because the accounts are in foreign countries and the expectation is that these countries have similar legislation in place that requires them to identify, report and record information about third parties.

Date Modified:

Exigences relatives à la détermination quant aux tiers

Les exigences relatives à la détermination quant aux tiers en vertu de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (la Loi) et des règlements connexes.    

Juin 2017

Détermination quant aux tiers

Un tiers est une personne ou une entité qui donne instruction à une autre personne ou entité d’effectuer une activité ou une opération financière pour son compte. Lorsque vous devez établir s’il y a un tiers qui donne des instructions, il ne s’agit pas de qui est le propriétaire de l’argent ou de qui en bénéficie, ou bien, de qui effectue l’opération ou l’activité. Il s’agit plutôt de la personne qui donne les instructions quant à la façon de procéder avec l’argent ou d’effectuer une opération ou une activité en particulier. Si vous déterminez que la personne devant vous agit selon les instructions de quelqu’un d’autre, cette autre personne est le tiers. Par exemple, Jim est un tiers lorsqu’il demande à Alice de faire un virement d’un montant de 12 000 $ à un compte d’affaires détenu par l’entreprise « ABC » dans le pays « A ».

Lorsqu’une personne agit pour le compte de son employeur, l’employeur est considéré comme étant le tiers, sauf si la personne fait un dépôt en espèces dans le compte d’affaires de l’employeur.

Conformément à la Loi et aux règlements connexes, vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour établir si la personne qui effectue certaines opérations ou activités agit pour le compte d’un tiers. Lorsque vous avez fait cette détermination, vous devez vérifier l’identité et conserver un document à l’égard du tiers impliqué dans toute opération que vous déclarez à CANAFE.

Le Groupe d’action financière (GAFI), CANAFE, le Groupe Egmont et d’autres organismes faisant autorité dans le domaine de la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes ont observé le recours aux tiers dans plusieurs cas de blanchiment d’argent et de financement des activités terroristes. Les criminels font souvent appel aux tiers pour éviter la détection en s’éloignant des produits de la criminalité.

Comment faire une détermination quant aux tiers?

Vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour établir s’il y a un tiers qui a donné instruction à votre client d’effectuer une activité ou une opération.

Les mesures raisonnables comprennent le fait de demander à votre client s’il agit selon les instructions de quelqu’un d’autre ou de récupérer ces renseignements déjà consignés dans vos dossiers. Les mesures que vous prenez pour faire une détermination quant aux tiers doivent être décrites dans vos politiques et procédures relatives à la conformité.

À quel moment devez-vous faire une détermination quant aux tiers?

Vous devez faire une détermination quant aux tiers dans certaines situations. Dans les quatre cas mentionnés ci-dessous, vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour établir si une activité ou une opération est effectuée pour le compte d’un tiers. Vous avez l’obligation de faire une détermination quant aux tiers lorsque vous devez :

  1. tenir et conserver un relevé d’opération importante en espèces
  2. tenir une fiche-signature ou une convention de tenue de compte
  3. tenir un dossier-client
  4. soumettre une déclaration relative à un déboursement de casino

1. Relevé d’opération importante en espèces

Lorsqu’un client effectue une opération importante en espèces, vous devez tenir un relevé d’opération importante en espèces. De plus, vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour établir si la personne qui vous remet les espèces agit selon les instructions d’un tiers au moment de l’opération. Si vous déterminez que c’est le cas, vous devez inclure les renseignements quant au tiers dans la déclaration d’opération importante en espèces ou dans toute autre déclaration d’opération que vous soumettez à CANAFE, par exemple une déclaration d’opération douteuse. Les renseignements quant au tiers doivent être consignés dans votre relevé d’opération importante en espèces.

2. Fiche-signature ou convention de tenue de compte

À quel moment dois-je faire une détermination quant aux tiers au moment d’ouvrir un compte?

Lorsque vous ouvrez un compte et créez une fiche-signature ou une convention de tenue de compte, vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour établir si ce compte sera utilisé par un tiers ou en son nom. Ces mesures doivent être prises au moment de l’ouverture du compte.

Par exemple, si un compte est ouvert au nom d’une personne, mais les activités dans le compte sont effectuées selon les instructions d’une autre personne, cette autre personne est le tiers. Voici un autre exemple : les parents qui décident d’ouvrir un compte d’épargne-études pour leur enfant n’agiront pas selon les instructions de leur enfant et, de ce fait, il n’y a aucun tiers dans ce cas.

Parmi les secteurs qui sont obligés de tenir des documents sur l’ouverture des comptes, mentionnons notamment les entités financières, les courtiers en valeurs mobilières et les casinos. Veuillez consulter les directives sur la tenue des documents qui s’appliquent à votre secteur pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur cette exigence.

Est-ce qu’il y a des cas où je n’ai pas l’obligation de faire une détermination quant aux tiers au moment d’ouvrir un compte?

Oui. Il y a des situations où il n’est pas nécessaire de faire une détermination quant aux tiers au moment d’ouvrir un compte, soit dans l’une ou l’autre des situations suivantes :

3. Dossier-client

Lorsque vous créez un dossier-client, vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour établir si votre client agit pour le compte d’un tiers. Ces mesures doivent être prises au moment de la constitution du dossier-client.

Les secteurs qui doivent respecter des obligations relatives à la tenue de dossiers-clients comprennent notamment les représentants ou les sociétés d’assurance-vie, le secteur de l’immobilier, les entreprises de services monétaires et les mandataires de Sa Majesté. Veuillez consulter les directives sur la tenue de documents qui s’appliquent à votre secteur pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur cette exigence.

4. Déclaration relative à un déboursement de casino

Lorsqu’un casino est tenu de déclarer un déboursement de 10 000 $ ou plus, il doit prendre des mesures raisonnables pour établir si la personne qui reçoit le déboursement agit pour le compte d’un tiers.

Quels documents doivent être tenus par rapport aux déterminations quant aux tiers?

Vous devez tenir des documents sur les tiers lorsqu’il s’agit des activités ou des éléments suivants :

  1. une opération importante en espèces
  2. une ouverture de compte
  3. un dossier-client
  4. un déboursement de casino

Si vous déterminez que la personne devant vous agit selon les instructions d’un tiers, vous devez conserver un document où sont consignés les renseignements suivants :

La nature du lien existant entre votre client et le tiers pourrait, par exemple, être décrite comme étant celle d’un comptable, d’un mandataire, d’un avocat, d’un emprunteur, d’un courtier, d’un client, d’un employé, d’un ami ou d’un parent.

Vous devez conserver les documents relatifs à une détermination quant aux tiers pendant une période d’au moins cinq ans après la date de leur création.

Que se passe-t-il si vous n’arrivez pas à faire une détermination quant aux tiers?

Si vous avez des motifs raisonnables de soupçonner que votre client agit pour le compte d’un tiers et vous n’êtes pas en mesure de faire une détermination quant aux tiers, vous devrez conserver les renseignements suivants :

Les mesures que vous prenez pour faire une détermination quant aux tiers doivent être décrites dans vos politiques et procédures relatives à la conformité.

Si vous n’êtes pas en mesure d’établir si un client agissait pour le compte d’un tiers, mais que vous avez des motifs raisonnables de soupçonner qu’un tiers avait donné des instructions à votre client, vous devez noter :

Est-ce qu’il y a des cas où l’exigence de tenue des documents relatifs à la détermination quant aux tiers ne s’applique pas?

Oui. Il y a des cas où l’exigence relative à la tenue des documents au moment de l’ouverture d’un compte ne s’applique pas. Il faut faire une détermination quant aux tiers pour ouvrir un compte, mais la tenue des documents relatifs à cette détermination n’est pas exigée si :

Ces exceptions existent parce que les comptes se trouvent dans des pays étrangers et on s’attend à ce que ces pays aient des lois comparables en place en matière d’identification des tiers, de déclaration et de tenue de documents à leur égard.

Date de modification :