Ministerial directives and transaction restrictions

Under Part 1.1 of the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA), which came into force on June 19, 2014, the Minister of Finance may:

These authorities allow the Minister of Finance to take steps to protect Canada’s financial system from foreign jurisdictions and foreign entities that are considered to present high risks for facilitating money laundering and terrorist financing.

Ministerial directives

The directive will be issued by the Minister of Finance. However, FINTRAC will inform reporting entities that a directive has been issued. Each directive will be added to the table of directives to be included on this web page, and will outline countermeasures that are limited to the same activities for which reporting entities already have obligations. The countermeasures will enhance or add to these obligations.

Directives will specify the date they come into force and will remain in force until officially revoked, suspended or amended.

Directives will be reviewed at least every three years from the day they take effect.

Transaction restrictions

The authority to recommend new regulations to restrict certain transactions is intended to be used in the most serious of cases. The Minister of Finance must consult the Minister of Foreign Affairs before recommending regulations to the Governor-in-Council. These regulations will be published in the Canada Gazette and will be prepared on a case-by-case basis.

Compliance with ministerial directives and transaction restrictions

FINTRAC will monitor and assess compliance with directives.

To assess compliance, the PCMLTFA gives FINTRAC the authority to examine the records and inquire into the business and affairs of any entity covered under the Act. When FINTRAC carries out compliance activities, such as on-site or desk-based examinations, to review how reporting entities are complying with their obligations as per the PCMLTFA, FINTRAC may now include compliance with directives as an area of review.

FINTRAC can issue administrative monetary penalties to address instances of non-compliance, and may also disclose cases of non-compliance to law enforcement when there is extensive non-compliance or little expectation of immediate or future compliance.

The existing administrative monetary penalties regime will be extended to all directives, and failure to comply with a directive could result in a penalty. Penalties applicable to a breach of a directive would be set out in the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations. 

Every person or entity that is found not to be in compliance with the measures included in a directive, as well as any reporting requirements included in a directive is guilty of an offence and liable:

Both criminal and administrative monetary penalties cannot be pursued against the same instances of non-compliance.

Guidance on ministerial directives

The Department of Finance has published guidance on Part 1.1 of the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act on its website.

Date Modified:

Directives ministérielles et restrictions quant aux opérations

En vertu de la partie 1.1 de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (la Loi), qui est entrée en vigueur le 19 juin 2014, le ministre des Finances peut :

Ces pouvoirs permettent au ministre des Finances de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour protéger le système financier canadien des États étrangers ou des entités étrangères qui sont jugés présenter un risque élevé de faciliter le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme.

Directives ministérielles

Les directives seront émises par le ministre des Finances. Toutefois, CANAFE avisera les entités déclarantes de toute nouvelle directive. Chaque directive sera ajoutée au tableau des directives qui sera affiché sur la présente page Web, et décrira des contremesures se limitant aux activités pour lesquelles l’entité déclarante a des obligations. Ces contremesures amélioreront ces obligations ou en ajouteront d’autres.

Les directives préciseront leur date d’entrée en vigueur et demeureront en vigueur jusqu’à leur révocation, suspension ou modification.

Les directives seront étudiées sur une base triennale, à compter de leur date d’entrée en vigueur.

Restrictions quant aux opérations

Le pouvoir de recommander de nouveaux règlements afin de restreindre certaines opérations doit être utilisé dans les cas les plus graves. Le ministre des Finances devra consulter le ministre des Affaires étrangères avant de recommander des règlements au gouverneur en conseil. Ces règlements seront publiés dans la Gazette du Canada et seront préparés au cas par cas.

Respect des directives ministérielles et des restrictions quant aux opérations

CANAFE surveillera et évaluera le respect de ces directives.

Pour évaluer la conformité, la Loi accordera à CANAFE le pouvoir d’examiner les dossiers et de s’enquérir des activités et des affaires de toute entité assujettie à la Loi. Lorsque CANAFE effectuera des activités d’assurance de la conformité, comme des examens au bureau ou sur les lieux, afin d’étudier la mesure dans laquelle les entités déclarantes respectent leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi, le Centre pourra également se pencher sur le respect des directives.

CANAFE peut imposer une pénalité administrative pécuniaire en cas de non-conformité, et peut également divulguer les cas de non-conformité aux services de police lorsque le manque de conformité est important ou qu’il est peu probable que la situation s’améliore immédiatement ou à plus long terme.

Le programme actuel de pénalités administratives pécuniaires sera élargi et s’appliquera maintenant à toutes les directives, et le non-respect d’une directive pourra entraîner l’imposition d’une pénalité administrative pécuniaire. Les pénalités pour violation d’une directive seront décrites dans le Règlement sur les pénalités administratives - recyclage des produits de la criminalité et financement des activités terroristes.

Toute personne ou entité qui ne respecte pas les mesures comprises dans une directive, ou les exigences en matière de déclaration comprises dans une directive, commet une infraction et encourt :

Le même cas de non-conformité ne pourra pas faire l’objet de sanctions pénales et de pénalités administratives pécuniaires.

Conseils quant aux directives ministérielles

Le ministère des Finances a publié un document d'orientation au sujet de la partie 1.1 de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes sur son site Web.

Date de modification :