FINTRAC’s Interpretation Policy

An interpretation policy is an overarching document that outlines the commitments, practices, and tools to be applied by a department or agency when providing Canadians and businesses with information and guidance on regulatory obligations to be met. It also identifies the conditions under which written responses to questions will be provided.

Agency context

FINTRAC’s mandate is to facilitate the detection, prevention and deterrence of money laundering and the financing of terrorist activities, while ensuring the protection of personal information under our control. We fulfill our mandate through the following activities:

This interpretation policy applies to interpretations provided to stakeholders in respect of regulations administered by FINTRAC that are made under the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA).

Predictability

Plain language commitment

FINTRAC is committed to providing regulatory interpretations that are clear, unambiguous and relevant to the enquiry. FINTRAC will provide responses to regulatory questions in the official language in which the question was posed.

Providing guidance and building awareness

FINTRAC promotes stakeholder involvement in a number of ways in order to build awareness and ensure consistent internal and external communication of regulatory compliance requirements. Measures include:

Responding to questions

General regulatory questions

Stakeholders having questions of a general nature on a regulation that is administered by FINTRAC may contact FINTRAC by telephone, by mail, or by e-mail.

FINTRAC generally responds to questions in writing over email. Prior to responding to such enquiries, FINTRAC may seek additional information from stakeholders.

Service

Service commitment

FINTRAC adheres to the Government of Canada Communications Policy which includes a commitment to deliver prompt, courteous and responsive service that is sensitive to the needs and concerns of the public and respectful of individual rights.

Service accountability

FINTRAC is committed to providing a level of service that meets the expectations of our stakeholders. FINTRAC maintains enquiries services (telephone, e-mail, letter mail and fax) that receives enquiries and responds to stakeholder questions or concerns. The enquiries service employs an electronic database that tracks stakeholder contact and ensures that all questions or comments receive a response when required. Where the enquiries service cannot itself respond due to the nature of the subject matter, the service will consult with appropriate individuals within the organization to ensure action is taken or a response provided, as necessary.

Staff training

FINTRAC is committed to ensuring that staff have the necessary skills and technical knowledge to provide accurate and consistent responses to regulatory questions. Internal procedures and reference materials have been developed and are regularly updated for this purpose.

Stakeholder engagement

Commitment to stakeholder engagement

FINTRAC is committed to engaging stakeholders, as appropriate, when developing and reviewing its practices and materials pertaining to regulatory guidance.

Stakeholder engagement practices

Stakeholders are engaged through a number of means, including:

Improvement

FINTRAC is committed to continually improving its level of service with respect to the provision of regulatory interpretations to reporting entities and the public.

2016-2017 plans

Date Modified:

Politique d’interprétation de CANAFE

Une politique d'interprétation est un document-cadre qui expose les engagements qu'un ministère ou organisme doit respecter, les pratiques qu'il doit appliquer et les outils qu'il doit utiliser lorsqu'il fournit au public canadien et aux entreprises de l'information et une orientation sur les obligations réglementaires à respecter. Cette politique établit également les conditions régissant les réponses écrites aux questions posées.

Contexte

Le mandat de CANAFE est de faciliter la détection, la prévention et la dissuasion en matière de blanchiment d'argent et de financement des activités terroristes, tout en assurant la protection des renseignements personnels qu'il détient. Il s'acquitte de son mandat en effectuant les activités suivantes :

La présente Politique s'applique aux interprétations fournies aux intervenants en ce qui a trait aux règlements administrés par CANAFE pris en vertu de la Loi.

Prévisibilité

Engagement à l'égard d'un langage simple

CANAFE s'engage à donner des interprétations de règlements à la fois claires, exemptes d'ambiguïtés et pertinentes à la demande et à répondre aux questions portant sur la réglementation dans la langue officielle dans laquelle elles sont posées.

Orientation et sensibilisation

CANAFE favorise la participation des intervenants de nombreuses façons afin de parfaire leurs connaissances et d'assurer la transmission de communications internes et externes cohérentes sur les exigences de conformité aux règlements. Voici certaines des mesures prises :

Réponse aux questions

Questions d'ordre général touchant les règlements

Les intervenants peuvent communiquer avec CANAFE par téléphone, par la poste ou par courriel pour obtenir des réponses à des questions d'ordre général touchant un règlement qu'il administre.

En règle générale, CANAFE répond aux questions par courriel. S'il y a lieu, il communique avec les intervenants pour obtenir d'autres détails avant de répondre aux demandes d'information.

Service

Engagement en matière de service

CANAFE adhère à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada qui prévoit l'offre d'un « service empressé, courtois et réceptif qui tient compte des besoins du public, répond à ses préoccupations et respecte les droits des particuliers ».

Responsabilisation en matière de service

CANAFE s'engage à fournir un niveau de service correspondant aux attentes des intervenants. Il offre un service d'information (par téléphone, courriel, télécopieur et la poste) dans le cadre duquel il reçoit des demandes d'information et répond aux questions ou aux préoccupations des intervenants. Dans le cadre de ce service, CANAFE utilise une base de données électronique pour faire le suivi des échanges avec les intervenants et s'assurer de donner suite à toute question ou tout commentaire en temps opportun. Si le service ne peut pas répondre à la question en raison de la nature du sujet abordé, il consulte les personnes compétentes au sein de l'organisation pour s'assurer de pouvoir prendre les mesures qui s'imposent et répondre à la question.

Formation du personnel

CANAFE s'engage à ce que le personnel possède les compétences et les connaissances techniques nécessaires pour répondre aux questions sur les obligations réglementaires avec exactitude et cohérence. À cet égard, il a élaboré des procédures et des documents de référence internes qu'il met à jour périodiquement.

Mobilisation des intervenants

Engagement à l'égard de la mobilisation des intervenants

CANAFE s'engage à obtenir la participation des intervenants, selon les besoins, lorsqu'il met au point et revoit ses pratiques ou son matériel visant à fournir une orientation sur les obligations réglementaires.

Pratiques de mobilisation des intervenants

Les intervenants sont mobilisés de diverses façons, notamment au moyen :

Amélioration

CANAFE est résolu à améliorer de façon continue le niveau de service qu'il offre au moment de répondre aux questions d'interprétation du public canadien et des entités déclarantes touchant les obligations réglementaires.

Plans de 2016-2017

Date de modification :