FINTRAC - Connecting the money to the crime

FINTRAC - Connecting the money to the crime (PDF version, 345 KB)

FINTRAC - Connecting the money to the crime

What is FINTRAC?

The Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC), is Canada's financial intelligence unit, a government agency created to collect, analyze and disclose financial intelligence on suspected money laundering and terrorist financing activities. Created in July 2000, FINTRAC is an integral part of our country's fight against the global crimes of money laundering and the financing of terrorist activities.

FINTRAC is an independent agency, operating at arms length from the police and other departments and agencies of government to whom it can provide financial intelligence, for example, the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS).

What does FINTRAC do?

FINTRAC collects reports on financial transactions from numerous entities and subjects them to rigorous analysis. These reports contain information on suspicious or large cash financial transactions, international electronic funds transfers, as well as on the cross-border movements of currency and monetary instruments. When FINTRAC determines, on the basis of its analysis, that there are reasonable grounds to suspect its information would be relevant to investigating or prosecuting a money laundering or terrorist financing offence, it will disclose key identifying information to law enforcement. In addition, when it also suspects the information would be relevant to a tax or duty evasion offence, FINTRAC will disclose it to the Canada Revenue Agency or the Canada Border Services Agency, as applicable. Similarly, when it suspects the information would also be relevant to the Communications Security Establishment Canada's (CSEC) mandate, FINTRAC will disclose it to CSEC. Likewise, when it suspects that any information, whether related to money laundering or terrorist financing, would be relevant to threats to the security of Canada, it will disclose the information to CSIS.

Money laundering

Money laundering is the process used to disguise the source of money or assets derived from criminal activity. Profit-motivated crimes span a variety of illegal activities from drug trafficking and smuggling to fraud, extortion and corruption.

Money laundering is a global problem, and the techniques used are numerous and can be very sophisticated. Technological advances in e-commerce, the global diversification of financial markets and new financial product developments provide further opportunities to launder illegal profits and obscure the money trail leading back to the underlying crime.

How does FINTRAC assist law enforcement and security agencies?

Although it operates at arms length from law enforcement, FINTRAC's primary role is to provide law enforcement and CSIS with high quality leads to help them with their investigations and prosecutions.

FINTRAC uses skilled financial analysts and leading-edge technology to provide law enforcement with high calibre financial intelligence. This helps them to zero in on the likeliest suspects. If more information than what is contained in the initial disclosure is required, FINTRAC will disclose the remaining contents of its analysis if presented with a court order.

FINTRAC also expects to play a strong leadership role in the international fight against organized crime and terrorism. Factors such as the growth in world travel, trade and immigration, and the growing popularity of electronic transactions have aided organized crime and terrorist groups. In that vein, FINTRAC has the ability to exchange financial intelligence with its international counterparts after entering into Memoranda of Understanding with these organizations.

How does FINTRAC protect privacy?

FINTRAC is required by law to protect the personal information it receives from unauthorized disclosure.

To that end, FINTRAC has put in place rigorous internal and external security measures to ensure that the reports and information it receives are held in the strictest of confidence. As well, the law provides for criminal penalties against any FINTRAC employee who unlawfully discloses information. The creation of FINTRAC allowed lawmakers to balance privacy rights and the needs of the law enforcement and security communities.

Terrorist financing

Terrorist financing operates somewhat differently from money laundering. While terrorist groups do generate funds from criminal activities such as drug trafficking and arms smuggling, they also frequently obtain revenue through legal means. Supporters of terrorist causes may, for example, raise funds from their local communities by hosting events or membership drives. In addition, some charity or relief organizations may unwittingly become the conduit through which donors contribute funds that may eventually be used to commit a terrorist act. The funds are then routed to the recipient terrorist organizations through both informal networks and the formal financial system.

Terrorist activities constitute threats to our country's safety and security. An effective response involves, among other things, efforts to detect and curtail the flow of money needed to finance such activities.

Who must report to FINTRAC?

The following persons and entities must report suspicious and certain other transactions to FINTRAC:

What is reported?

There are also other regulatory requirements such as:

Reporting of currency or monetary instruments

Any individual, whether a Canadian citizen or not, and any entity, who is importing in or exporting from Canada currency or monetary instruments of $10,000 or more, has to file a report with the Canada Border Services Agency.

Reporting voluntary information

In addition, FINTRAC can receive information about suspicions of money laundering or terrorist financing that is provided voluntarily.

These tips can be sent to FINTRAC by:

Facsimile: 1-866-538-0880
(No long-distance charges will apply)

or mail:

FINTRAC
234 Laurier Avenue West, 24th floor
Ottawa, ON, Canada K1P 1H7

To learn more about FINTRAC and Canada's effort to combat money laundering and terrorist financing activities, visit our website: www.fintrac-canafe.gc.ca

Or call: 1-866-346-8722

To order a printed version of this publication, please send an email outlining your request to publications@fintrac-canafe.gc.ca. Include the following information in your email:

Date Modified:

CANAFE - Associer l'argent au crime

CANAFE - Associer l'argent au crime (version PDF, 356 Ko)

Qu'est-ce que CANAFE?

Le Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE) est l'unité du renseignement financier du Canada, un organisme mis sur pied afin de recueillir, d'analyser et de communiquer des renseignements financiers concernant les soupçons de blanchiment d'argent et de financement des activités terroristes. Créé en juillet 2000, CANAFE fait partie intégrante de l'engagement qu'a pris le Canada de lutter contre le blanchiment d'argent et le financement des activités terroristes à l'échelle mondiale.

CANAFE est un organisme autonome qui exerce ses activités sans lien de dépendance à l'égard des services de police, des autres ministères et organismes du gouvernement auxquels il peut communiquer des renseignements financiers, comme le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS).

Que fait CANAFE?

CANAFE reçoit des déclarations sur les opérations financières qui lui sont transmises par diverses entités et les soumet à une analyse rigoureuse. Ces déclarations contiennent des renseignements sur des opérations douteuses ou des opérations importantes en espèces, des télévirements internationaux, ainsi que sur les mouvements transfrontaliers d'espèces ou d'effets. Lorsque CANAFE détermine, à partir de son analyse, qu'il existe des motifs raisonnables de soupçonner que les renseignements pourraient être essentiels à la tenue d'une enquête ou à des poursuites éventuelles en ce qui a trait au blanchiment d'argent ou au financement d'activités terroristes, il peut communiquer des renseignements permettant d'identifier les parties aux organismes d'application de la loi. Par exemple, si le Centre soupçonne que les renseignements peuvent être liés à une infraction d'évasion fiscale ou de non-paiement de droits, il les communique à l'Agence du revenu du Canada ou à l'Agence des services frontaliers, selon le cas. De façon similaire, s'il soupçonne que les renseignements peuvent être liés à son mandat en matière de sécurité des télécommunications, il les communique au Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST). Par ailleurs, s'il soupçonne que les renseignements, qu'ils soient ou non liés au blanchiment d'argent ou au financement des activités terroristes, peuvent être liés à des menaces envers la sécurité du Canada, CANAFE les communique au SCRS.

Le blanchiment d'argent

Le blanchiment d'argent est le processus consistant à dissimuler la source de l'argent ou des biens tirés d'activités criminelles. Une grande variété d'activités illégales sont motivées par le profit, notamment le trafic de stupéfiants, la contrebande, la fraude, l'extorsion de fonds et la corruption.

Le blanchiment d'argent est un problème mondial faisant appel à des techniques nombreuses et très spécialisées. Les progrès technologiques effectués dans le domaine du commerce électronique, la diversification mondiale des marchés financiers et les nouveaux produits financiers fournissent de nouvelles occasions de recycler les produits des activités criminelles et de dissimuler la piste de l'argent provenant de ces activités.

Comment CANAFE vient-il en aide aux organismes d'application de la loi et de sécurité?

Même s'il est un organisme autonome et indépendant des organismes d'application de la loi, CANAFE a pour mandat de fournir à ces autorités et au SCRS des pistes de grande qualité pour les aider dans leurs enquêtes et leurs poursuites.

Le Centre fait appel à des analystes financiers expérimentés et à une technologie de pointe afin de fournir aux organismes d'application de la loi des renseignements financiers de grande qualité. De tels renseignements financiers permettent à ces organismes d'identifier plus facilement des suspects. Mais, si les renseignements fournis ne sont pas suffisants, CANAFE peut communiquer l'ensemble de son analyse sur présentation d'une ordonnance du tribunal.

CANAFE vise également à jouer un rôle de premier plan dans la lutte mondiale contre le crime organisé et le terrorisme. Des facteurs comme le nombre accru de voyages, le commerce effectué sur une échelle plus vaste, les vagues d'immigration partout dans le monde et la popularité croissante des opérations électroniques favorisent les activités criminelles et terroristes. Dans cette optique, CANAFE est en mesure de communiquer des renseignements financiers à ses homologues internationaux lorsqu'un protocole d'entente est conclu à cette fin.

Comment CANAFE s'y prend-il pour protéger les renseignements personnels qui lui sont confiés?

En vertu de la loi, CANAFE est tenu de protéger les renseignements personnels qu'il détient contre une communication non autorisée. À cette fin, CANAFE a mis en place des mesures de sécurité internes et externes rigoureuses afin d'assurer le respect de la confidentialité des déclarations et des renseignements qu'il reçoit. Par ailleurs, la loi prévoit des sanctions pénales contre tout employé de CANAFE qui communique des renseignements à des fins illégales.

La création de CANAFE a permis aux législateurs d'équilibrer les droits à la protection des renseignements personnels et les besoins des organismes d'application de la loi et de sécurité.

Qu'est-ce que le financement des activités terroristes?

Le financement des activités terroristes est quelque peu différent du blanchiment d'argent. Bien que les groupes terroristes se procurent des fonds au moyen d'activités criminelles telles que le trafic d'armes et de stupéfiants, ils peuvent aussi en obtenir par des moyens légitimes. Par exemple, les gens qui soutiennent les causes terroristes peuvent recueillir des fonds au sein de leurs collectivités en organisant des activités ou des campagnes d'adhésion. En outre, des organismes de bienfaisance ou d'aide humanitaire peuvent, sans le savoir, devenir une voie par laquelle des fonds versés par les donateurs sont transmis à des organisations terroristes en passant par des réseaux informels et par le système financier officiel.

Les activités terroristes constituent des menaces envers la sécurité du pays. Pour y réagir avec efficacité, il faut, entre autres, s'efforcer de détecter et d'interrompre la circulation des fonds requis pour financer de telles activités.

Qui doit faire une déclaration à CANAFE?

Les personnes et les entités suivantes doivent transmettre des déclarations concernant les opérations douteuses et d'autres types d'opérations à CANAFE :

Que doit-on déclarer?

Il existe aussi d'autres exigences réglementaires comme :

Déclaration d'espèces ou d'effets

Toute personne, de citoyenneté canadienne ou non, et toute entité qui importe au Canada ou exporte du Canada des espèces ou des effets (instruments monétaires) de 10 000 $ ou plus doit les déclarer à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Communication volontaire de renseignements

De plus, toute personne peut communiquer volontairement des renseignements concernant des soupçons de blanchiment d'argent ou de financement des activités terroristes à CANAFE.

On peut envoyer ces renseignements à CANAFE :

par télécopieur sans frais : 1-866-538-0880

ou par la poste :

CANAFE
234, avenue Laurier Ouest, 24e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 1H7 CANADA

Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de CANAFE et des efforts déployés par le Canada pour lutter contre le blanchiment d'argent et le financement des activités terroristes, visitez notre site Web à : www.canafe-fintrac.gc.ca

ou composez le numéro sans frais 1-866-346-8722

Pour commander une copie imprimée de cette publication, veuillez faire parvenir votre demande à publications@canafe-fintrac.gc.ca. Afin de nous permettre de donner suite à votre demande dans les plus brefs délais, nous vous prions d'inclure les renseignements suivants dans votre courriel :

Date de modification :