FINTRAC, law enforcement and intelligence partners:
Sharing intelligence, making the links

Updated March 1st, 2016

Financial intelligence can assist your investigation. Knowing more about financial transactions associated with a suspected criminal activity can help identify new targets, locate hidden proceeds of crime and provide the supporting information necessary to obtain warrants.

What is FINTRAC?

The Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada, known as FINTRAC, is Canada's financial intelligence unit (FIU).

We contribute to the public safety of Canadians and help protect the integrity of Canada's financial system through the detection and deterrence of money laundering and terrorist activity financing.

To achieve this, we are mandated by the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA) to provide operational support to our domestic and international law enforcement and intelligence partners and to give strategic advice to the Government of Canada.

How does FINTRAC assist in investigations?

Our perspective is unique and so too is our product. Each year, FINTRAC's database receives about 20 million transactional reports from approximately 31,000 sources in a variety of Canadian business sectors.

We help make investigative links by connecting the money to the crime. Through extensive analysis, those transactions and patterns that are suspected of relating to money laundering, terrorist activity financing or other threats to the security of Canada are linked to form the basis of our intelligence product for you.

That product is disclosed as tactical financial intelligence (typically referred to as a "disclosure") to the appropriate investigative and intelligence organizations at the federal, provincial and municipal levels. Such organizations include any police service in Canada, Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS), Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) and Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), provincial and territorial securities commissions, among others.

What value can FINTRAC's financial intelligence provide?

TIMELINESS:  FINTRAC receives 99% of its reports electronically. Consequently, the millions of financial transaction reports provided to FINTRAC can be accessed, collated, and analyzed quickly. This means a timely analysis of financial intelligence facilitating the likelihood of a successful investigation and/or prosecution. Knowing our partners' critical investigative dates and anticipated timelines further assists in this success.

RELEVANCE:  FINTRAC must disclose designated information to appropriate recipients once reasonable grounds to suspect a money laundering, terrorist activity financing offence or a threat to the security of Canada are met. A disclosure suggests where to look for evidence of suspected money laundering or terrorist activity financing and in many cases, helps develop criteria to obtain search warrants. It provides a factual account of each financial transaction relevant to an investigation, referred to as "designated information."

This designated information can:

USABILITY:  A single disclosure may contain information on several related transactions. It often includes an overview of the transactions and a listing broken down by person, entity or institution where the transactions occurred, as well as a graphic chart illustrating the network of transactions undertaken. FINTRAC staff involved in each case are also available to assist you directly throughout the investigation, where appropriate. Disclosures are made and shared electronically through secure means and are also available in paper format.

What a FINTRAC case disclosure contains:

DESIGNATED INFORMATION CONTAINED WITHIN A FINTRAC DISCLOSURE:

PERSON INVOLVED

ENTITY INVOLVED

ACCOUNT / TRANSACTION INFORMATION

REPORTS

IMPORTATION OR EXPORTATION

OTHER INFORMATION

What information does FINTRAC use in its analysis?

The backbone of FINTRAC's disclosure product is the financial transaction information provided by Canadian businesses that are required by law to report to us, *see Who Must Report (below). Under the PCMLTFA and its accompanying regulations, financial institutions and intermediaries are required to report to FINTRAC certain types of transactions.

The PCMLTFA also obliges anyone importing or exporting large sums of cash or monetary instruments to report this to CBSA. These reports are then forwarded to FINTRAC. The PCMLTFA further compels CBSA to submit reports to FINTRAC related to cross-border currency seizures.

FINTRAC relies on other tools to maximize the disclosure product's effectiveness. Here, the PCMLTFA also gives FINTRAC the added analytical capacity to:

* Who must report

What is reported

* Unlike other reporting requirements outlined above that apply to designated sectors of activity, any person or entity must declare the importation or exportation of $10,000 or more in currency or monetary instruments into or out of Canada to the CBSA.

What triggers a FINTRAC case?

FINTRAC's information holdings are vast and ever-growing. To help focus on what is relevant for analysis, FINTRAC relies on 'case initiators', which generally include:

FINTRAC'S BUSINESS PROCESS

FINTRAC's Business Process
View a larger version of this image

View the text equivalent for FINTRAC's Business Process

This chart separates the three main stages in FINTRAC's business process: receiving information, conducting analysis and disclosing intelligence.

For receiving information, the initiating factor is a financial transaction, such as a currency exchange, deposit, jewellery sale or purchase, money transfer or real estate purchase.

A report is sent to FINTRAC when these transactions are made through the following financial institutions or intermediaries: accountants; banks; British Columbia Notaries, caisses populaires; Canada Post, casinos, co-op credit societies; credit unions; dealers in precious metals and stones, foreign exchange dealers; life insurance companies, brokers or agents; money services businesses; provincial savings offices; real estate developers brokers or sales representatives; securities dealers or trust and loan companies.

The various report types these entities send to FINTRAC are casino disbursement reports, electronic funds transfer reports, large cash transaction reports, suspicious transaction reports and terrorist property reports.  FINTRAC also receives cross border currency seizure reports and cross border currency reports from the Canada Border Services Agency. The Centre monitors the quality and quantity of the reports it receives.

Reports are received in FINTRAC's database. FINTRAC also has access to external databases, foreign financial intelligence units and voluntary information. In the second stage, FINTRAC analyses the reports it receives along with other information in order detect suspected money laundering, terrorist activity financing, and other threats to the security of Canada. It develops financial intelligence by establishing identification, grouping related transactions and querying databases.

FINTRAC provides or develops financial intelligence by: establishing identification, grouping related transactions or querying databases.

Disclosing intelligence is the third and final stage in FINTRAC's business process. In this stage, financial intelligence pertaining to suspected cases of money laundering or terrorist activity financing, or threats to the security of Canada is disclosed to law enforcement or intelligence agencies, or foreign financial intelligence units, Canada Revenue Agency, Canada Border Services Agency, Provincial/Territorial Securities Commissions where appropriate.

What other assistance can FINTRAC provide?

In order to keep pace with the evolving trends in criminal activity, FINTRAC also conducts strategic analysis, producing a wide range of products that reveal existing and developing forms of illegal money movements. These products provide FINTRAC's unique perspective on a particular sector (such as banking, casino, alternative remittance and securities) or theme (such as drugs or fraud). Our partners are encouraged to inform us of their investigative priorities so that FINTRAC can develop the most relevant and useful strategic analysis products.  

Contact us

For further information regarding how FINTRAC can support your investigative efforts, please email us at:
partner-partenaire@fintrac-canafe.gc.ca

This is an unsecure email address. Please contact us first for guidance should you wish to send confidential information. Please note that FINTRAC will only respond to emails bearing the appropriate police or government partner domain name.

Telephone: 1-866-346-8722 (toll free)

Facsimile: (613) 943-7931

Mail:
FINTRAC
24th Floor, 234 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, ON
K1P 1H7

Website: www.fintrac-canafe.gc.ca

Date Modified:

CANAFE, organismes d'application de la loi et partenaires du renseignement : Échange de renseignements, l'union fait la force

Mis à jour le 1er mars 2016

Les renseignements financiers peuvent faire avancer vos enquêtes. Le fait d'en savoir plus sur les opérations financières associées à une activité criminelle présumée peut vous aider à repérer de nouvelles cibles, à découvrir des produits de la criminalité cachés et à fournir les faits à l'appui nécessaires pour obtenir des mandats.

Qu'est-ce que CANAFE?

Le Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada, connu sous le nom de CANAFE, est l'unité du renseignement financier du Canada.

Nous contribuons à la sécurité publique de la population canadienne et nous aidons à protéger l'intégrité du système financier canadien grâce à la détection et à la dissuasion du blanchiment d'argent et du financement des activités terroristes.

Pour ce faire, la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (la Loi) nous confie le mandat d'offrir un appui opérationnel à nos partenaires du renseignement et d'application de la loi à l'échelle nationale et internationale et de donner des conseils stratégiques au gouvernement du Canada.

Comment CANAFE fait-il pour faire avancer les enquêtes?

Notre perspective et nos renseignements sont uniques en leur genre. Chaque année, environ 20 millions de déclarations d'opérations en provenance d’approximativement 31 000 sources de divers secteurs d'affaires du Canada sont versées dans la base de données de CANAFE.

Nous aidons à enquêter sur les liens en associant l'argent au crime. Grâce à des analyses approfondies, nous établissons des liens entre les opérations et les tendances soupçonnées d'être liées au blanchiment d'argent, au financement d'activités terroristes ou à d'autres menaces à la sécurité du Canada afin de former la base sur laquelle reposent les renseignements que nous vous offrons.

Cette information est communiquée en tant que renseignement financier tactique (communément appelé « communication ») aux organismes d'enquête et de renseignement compétents aux ordres fédéral, provincial et municipal. Parmi ces organismes, on compte entre autres les services de police du Canada, le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS), l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) et les commissions des valeurs mobilières provinciales et territoriales.

Quels sont les avantages des renseignements financiers de CANAFE?

OPPORTUNITÉ : CANAFE reçoit 99 % de ses déclarations financières électroniquement, ce qui permet à ces millions de documents d'être rapidement consultés, colligés et analysés. C'est pourquoi les renseignements financiers peuvent être analysés en temps opportun, facilitant ainsi la probabilité de réussite des enquêtes et des poursuites menées dans ces domaines. Le fait de connaître les dates critiques des enquêtes et le calendrier prévu de nos partenaires contribue à ce succès.

PERTINENCE : CANAFE doit communiquer les renseignements désignés aux organismes compétents lorsqu'il a des motifs raisonnables de soupçonner une infraction de blanchiment d'argent, de financement d'activités terroristes ou une menace à la sécurité du Canada. Une communication de renseignements aide à orienter les recherches d'éléments probants quant aux soupçons de blanchiment d'argent ou de financement d'activités terroristes et, dans de nombreux cas, aide à élaborer des critères pour obtenir des mandats de perquisition. Elle donne un compte rendu factuel de chaque opération financière relative à une enquête, appelé renseignement « désigné ».

Ces renseignements désignés peuvent permettre de :

CONVIVIABILITÉ : Une seule communication peut contenir de l'information sur plusieurs opérations reliées entre elles. Souvent, elle donne un aperçu des opérations, fournit une liste des personnes, des entités ou des institutions associées aux opérations, ainsi qu'un graphique illustrant l'ensemble des opérations. De plus, les employés de CANAFE peuvent vous aider tout au long de l'enquête, au besoin. Les communications sont transmises et échangées électroniquement par voies protégées et peuvent être consultées sur papier.

Quelle information est comprise dans une communication de cas de CANAFE?

RENSEIGNEMENTS DÉSIGNÉS COMPRIS DANS UNE COMMUNICATION DE CANAFE

PERSONNE CONCERNÉE

ENTITÉ CONCERNÉE

RENSEIGNEMENT SUR LE COMPTE OU L'OPÉRATION

DÉCLARATIONS

IMPORTATION OU EXPORTATION

AUTRES RENSEIGNEMENTS

Quels renseignements CANAFE utilise-t-il dans ses analyses?

Les renseignements de base des produits de communication de CANAFE sont ceux sur les opérations financières transmises par les entreprises canadiennes qui sont tenues par la loi de présenter des déclarations, *voir Entités tenues de présenter des déclarations (ci-dessous). Aux termes de la Loi et des règlements connexes, les institutions financières et les intermédiaires doivent déclarer à CANAFE certains types d'opérations.

La Loi exige aussi que toute personne qui importe ou exporte des espèces ou des effets d'une valeur importante le déclare à l'ASFC, qui achemine ces déclarations à CANAFE. La Loi oblige aussi l'ASFC à présenter des déclarations à CANAFE relativement aux saisies des douanes.

CANAFE se sert d'autres outils pour faire le meilleur usage possible des produits de communication. La Loi confère à CANAFE une capacité analytique additionnelle, en l'autorisant à :   

*Entités tenues de présenter des déclarations

Catégories de déclarations

* Cette exigence de déclaration qui vise les secteurs d'activité désignés se distingue des autres en ce qu'elle oblige toute personne ou entité qui importe au Canada ou en exporte des espèces ou des effets d'une valeur de 10 000 $ ou plus à les déclarer à l'ASFC.

Quels sont les éléments déclencheurs de cas de CANAFE?

La banque d'information de CANAFE contient une panoplie de renseignements dont le nombre ne cesse d'augmenter. Pour nous aider à nous concentrer sur les renseignements pertinents lors d'une analyse, CANAFE s'appuie sur des « éléments déclencheurs de cas », qui comprennent généralement :

PROCESSUS OPÉRATIONNEL DE CANAFE

Processus opérationnel de CANAFE
Voir une plus grande version de cette image

Voir l'équivalent textuel pour le Processus opérationnel de CANAFE

Ce graphique distingue les trois étapes principales du processus opérationnel de CANAFE Il existe trois étapes importantes dans le processus opérationnel de CANAFE : la collecte de renseignements, l'analyse de ces renseignements et leur communication.

Pour la collecte de renseignements, le facteur déclencheur est une opération financière, comme un achat de biens immobiliers, change de devises, un dépôt, un virement de fonds, ou vente ou achat de bijoux.

Une déclaration est envoyée à CANAFE lorsque ces opérations sont effectuées par l'entremise d'une des institutions financières suivantes ou par un intermédiaire : les banques, les caisses d'épargne de crédits, les caisses d'épargne provinciales, les caisses populaires, les casinos, les comptables, les coopératives de crédit, les courtiers de change, les courtiers en valeurs mobilières, les entreprises de transfert de fonds ou de vente de titres négociables, les négociants en métaux précieux et pierres précieuses, les notaires de la Colombie-Britannique, Postes Canada, les promoteurs et courtiers immobiliers et représentants des ventes, les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, les sociétés ou représentants d'assurance-vie.

Les différents types de déclarations que ces entités font parvenir à CANAFE sont les les déclarations de biens appartenant à un groupe terroriste, les déclarations d'opérations douteuses, les déclarations d'opérations importantes en espèces, déclarations relatives à un déboursements de casino et déclarations de télévirements. CANAFE reçoit également les déclarations de mouvements transfrontaliers d'espèces et d'effets et les rapports de saisie relatifs à des mouvements transfrontaliers d'espèces et d'effets des douanes de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada. Le Centre surveille la qualité et la quantité des déclarations qu'il reçoit.

Les déclarations sont versées dans la base de données de CANAFE. Le Centre a aussi accès à des renseignements provenant de bases de données externes, d'unités du renseignement financier étrangères et des renseignements transmis volontairement. Au cours de la deuxième étape, CANAFE analyse les déclarations reçues de même que d'autres renseignements à fin de détecter des cas présumés de blanchiment d'argent, de financement d'activités terroristes et de menaces à la sécurité du Canada. CANAFE produit ses renseignements financiers par l'établissement de l'identité, le groupement d'opérations liées, et l'interrogation des bases de données.

CANAFE produit des renseignements financiers par le groupement d'opérations liées, l'établissement de l'identité et l'interrogation des bases de données.

La communication de ces renseignements représente la troisième et dernière étape du processus organisationnel de CANAFE. Les renseignements financiers concernant des cas présumés de blanchiment d'argent, de financement d'activités terroristes ou de menaces à la sécurité du Canada sont alors communiqués aux organismes d'application de la loi et du renseignement ou aux unités de renseignement financier étrangères, Agence du revenue du Canada, Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, et aux commissions des valeurs mobilières provinciales/territoriales, le cas échéant.

De quelles autres façons CANAFE peut-il aider?

Pour ne pas se laisser dépasser par les tendances nouvelles en ce qui a trait aux activités criminelles, CANAFE réalise aussi des analyses stratégiques, grâce auxquelles il développe une variété de produits qui révèlent les formes, nouvelles et existantes, de mouvements de fonds illégaux. Ces produits permettent d'obtenir le point de vue unique de CANAFE sur un secteur donnée (comme les banques, les casinos, les remises de fonds alternatifs et les valeurs mobilières) ou un thème en particulier (comme les drogues ou la fraude). On encourage les partenaires de CANAFE à l'informer de leurs enquêtes prioritaires pour que le Centre puisse élaborer les produits d'analyse stratégique les plus pertinents et utiles.

Nous joindre

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon dont CANAFE peut contribuer à vos enquêtes, envoyez-nous un courriel à :
partner-partenaire@canafe-fintrac.gc.ca

Cette adresse de courriel n'est pas protégée. Avant d'envoyer des renseignements confidentiels, communiquez d'abord avec nous pour savoir comment procéder. Veuillez noter que CANAFE ne répondra qu'aux courriels ayant un nom de domaine valide de la police ou d'un partenaire gouvernemental.

Téléphone : 1-866-346-8722 (sans frais)

Télécopieur : 613-943-7931

Poste :
CANAFE
24e étage, 234, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 1H7

Site Web : www.canafe-fintrac.gc.ca

Date de modification :