Financial intelligence highlights: 2015–16

Results in the fight against money laundering and terrorist activity financing

September 2016

The Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) is Canada's financial intelligence unit. The Centre contributes to the safety of Canadians and helps protect the integrity of Canada’s financial system through the detection and deterrence of money laundering and terrorist activity financing.

With the financial transaction reports that FINTRAC receives every year from reporting entities across the country, it is able to provide actionable financial intelligence that assists Canada’s police, law enforcement and national security agencies in combatting money laundering, terrorism financing and threats to the security of Canada, while safeguarding the information of Canadians.

FINTRAC's disclosures contain designated information that identifies individuals and entities, as well as account and transaction information. Disclosures are made when the Centre has reasonable grounds to suspect that the information would be relevant to the investigation or prosecution of a money laundering or terrorist activity financing offence or to threats to the security of Canada. This intelligence allows FINTRAC to establish critical links between transactions, individuals and groups in Canada and abroad that support criminal and terrorist activities.

In June 2015, the RCMP’s Combined Forces Special Enforcement Unit recognized FINTRAC’s contribution to a two-year multi-jurisdictional and international investigation into the 'Ndrangheta criminal organization operating in the Greater Toronto Area. Project OPHOENIX resulted in the arrest of nineteen people for numerous offences related to drug importation and trafficking, firearms trafficking, extortion, possession and laundering of the proceeds of crime.

Often based on hundreds or even thousands of financial transactions, FINTRAC’s disclosures show links between individuals and businesses that have not otherwise been identified in an investigation, and may help investigators refine the scope of their cases or shift their sights to different targets. The Centre’s disclosures are also used by police and other law enforcement agencies to prepare affidavits to obtain search warrants and production orders in pursuit of charges.

The Centre’s intelligence is also used by regime partners to identify assets for seizure and forfeiture, reinforce applications for the listing of terrorist entities, negotiate agreements at the time of sentencing and advance the government's knowledge of the financial dimensions of terrorism, organized crime and other threats.

FINTRAC maintains very strong and productive working relationships with its police, law enforcement and national security partners to ensure that its financial intelligence is relevant, valuable and closely aligned to their priorities. The Centre’s Deputy Director of Operations is a member of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police and FINTRAC is the only non-law enforcement organization to serve on the Canadian Integrated Response to Organized Crime Committee (CIROC). Below are some recent investigations to which FINTRAC contributed.

Contributing to priority law enforcement and national security investigations

In May 2015, the Service de police de la Ville de Montréal recognized FINTRAC’s contribution to an investigation into a contraband alcohol network that is alleged to have defrauded the government of $14 million in tax revenue. The investigation resulted in 11 arrests with charges related to fraud and laundering the proceeds of crime.

The RCMP recognized FINTRAC’s contribution to a cocaine trafficking investigation in the Acadian Peninsula. Several drug related charges were initially laid against six men in September 2013, with two men convicted and sentenced to four years in prison in September 2015. Four additional men were arrested in July 2015 in Operation J-Touchdown. More than two kilograms of cocaine, two vehicles and cash were seized.

In October 2015, the Ontario Provincial Police Temiskaming Crime Unit recognized FINTRAC’s contribution to a three-year investigation into an alleged fraud surrounding the restoration and sale of a vacant commercial property. Five individuals were charged with a total of 60 Criminal Code offences and the financial loss was approximately $7.5 million.

In December 2015, the Mass Marketing Section of the Toronto Police Service Financial Crimes Unit recognized FINTRAC’s contribution to a three-year investigation into an alleged $93 million pyramid scheme. Two individuals were charged with defrauding the public, possession of proceeds of crime, laundering proceeds of crime and other offences.

In January 2016, FINTRAC’s contribution was recognized in a joint forces police operation involving the Ontario Provincial Police, the Ottawa Police Service and the RCMP’s “O” Division Ottawa Detachment Financial Crime unit dubbed Project ATTAR. Two properties, with a combined worth of $1.4 million were restrained in this proceeds of crime investigation.

In March 2016, the RCMP Integrated National Security Enforcement Team in Toronto recognized the Centre’s contribution to an extensive national security criminal investigation, Project SWAP, which resulted in a terrorism charge under the Criminal Code.

In 2015–16, FINTRAC provided 1,655 disclosures of actionable financial intelligence to its regime partners.

FINTRAC case disclosures from 2011–12 to 2015–16
FINTRAC case disclosures from 2011–12 to 2015–16
View the text equivalent FINTRAC case disclosures from 2011–12 to 2015–16

This chart compares the total number of FINTRAC case disclosures from 2011–12 to 2015–16.

FINTRAC made 796 case disclosures in 2011–12.

FINTRAC made 919 case disclosures in 2012–13.

FINTRAC made 1,143 case disclosures in 2013–14.

FINTRAC made 1,260 case disclosures in 2014–15.

FINTRAC made 1,655 case disclosures in 2015–16.


Of FINTRAC’s total disclosures, 1,501 were associated to money laundering. An additional 483 cases were relevant to terrorism financing and threats to the security of Canada, an increase of more than 43 percent from the previous year.

Disclosures by type
Disclosures by type
View the text equivalent Disclosures by type

This chart compares the total number of FINTRAC case disclosures by type in 2015–16.

FINTRAC made 1,172 case disclosures related to money laundering.

FINTRAC made 329 case disclosures related to terrorist financing and threats to the security of Canada.

FINTRAC made 154 case disclosures related to money laundering, terrorist financing and threats to the security of Canada.


Throughout 2015–16, the Centre's financial intelligence contributed to a significant number of investigations at the federal, provincial and municipal levels across the country. Canadian police forces — particularly the Royal Canadian Mounted Police — continue to be the main recipients of FINTRAC's financial intelligence.

Number of disclosure packages by recipient (2015–16)Footnote *

Recipient Number of disclosures
Royal Canadian Mounted Police 976
Municipal police 582
Canadian Security Intelligence Service 429
Foreign financial intelligence units (41 countries) 384
Provincial police 303
Canada Border Services Agency 225
Canada Revenue Agency 205
Provincial securities regulators 69
Communications Security Establishment 47

Over the past year, FINTRAC’s financial intelligence was used to assist hundreds of money laundering investigations in the context of a wide variety of criminal investigations, where the origins of the suspected criminal proceeds were linked to fraud, drug trafficking, tax evasion, corruption, theft, human trafficking and other criminal offences.

Types of predicate offences related to case disclosuresFootnote *

Predicate offence Percentage
Fraud 32%
Drugs 22%
Organized crime 12%
Tax evasion 12%
Customs/excise 7%
Immigration and Refugee Protection Act offences (excluding human trafficking/smuggling) 6%
Human smuggling/trafficking 5%
Corruption 4%
Theft 4%
Crimes against persons 3%
Weapons possession/arms trafficking 3%
Charities 2%
Illegal gambling 2%
Prostitution/bawdy houses 2%
Other (Crimes against property, luring, tobacco sales/distribution, other Federal Acts) 1%
Child exploitation 1%

In 2015–16, FINTRAC received 1,618 case filesFootnote 1 from police, law enforcement and national security partners, as well as from members of the public. This is an increase of nearly 20 percent from the previous year. These files provide key intelligence on alleged criminals and terrorists and are often the starting point for the Centre’s analysis. They are used by the Centre to establish connections between individuals and entities and to build financial intelligence that, in turn, provides partners with valuable leads in their investigations.

Number of case files received from 2011–12 to 2015–16
Number of case files received from 2011–12 to 2015–16
View the text equivalent Number of case files received from 2011–12 to 2015–16

This chart compares the total number of case files received from 2011–12 to 2015–16.

FINTRAC received 1,034 case files in 2011–12.

FINTRAC received 1,082 case files in 2012–13.

FINTRAC received 1,320 case files in 2013–14.

FINTRAC received 1,380 case files in 2014–15.

FINTRAC received 1,618 case files in 2015–16.


When appropriate thresholds are met, FINTRAC also provides proactive disclosures of actionable financial intelligence to its police, law enforcement and natoinal security partners based on observed patterns of transactional activity and information in reported financial transactions, particularly in suspicious transaction reports. The Centre has dedicated significant effort to increasing the quality and volume of suspicious transaction reporting, given its importance to FINTRAC’s analysis and the financial intelligence that it generates for its partners. As a result of these efforts and an increased commitment from reporting entities, suspicious transaction reporting increased by 24 percent last year. This has allowed FINTRAC to provide more – and even more timely – proactive disclosures in relation to its partners’ ongoing investigations and to help generate new investigations.

The demand for FINTRAC’s financial intelligence has grown steadily over the past five years. This speaks to the strong partnerships the Centre has established with Canada’s police, law enforcement and national security agencies, and the valuable contribution FINTRAC has made to their priority investigations. It also speaks to the extensive efforts undertaken by the Centre and reporting entities across the country to increase the quantity and quality of the transaction reporting that FINTRAC receives under the PCMLTFA. The 20 million financial transaction reports the Centre receives from Canadian businesses every year are the lifeblood of its analysis and make it possible for FINTRAC to support its partners’ money laundering and terrorist financing investigations.

The Centre’s increasing contribution to the investigations of its police, law enforcement and national security partners has been enabled by the commitment and investment that FINTRAC has made in recruiting high-quality employees who have access to the sophisticated training, technology and support required to fulfill their specialized roles. Over the past year, the Centre has also focused on better integrating and aligning its structure and business processes to further strengthen its operational effectiveness. FINTRAC’s operating paradigm – compliance for intelligence and intelligence for enforcement – ensures that its focus is always on its core mandate: helping to protect Canadians and the integrity of Canada’s financial system.

A new partnership to counter human trafficking

In 2015–16, FINTRAC joined police and national security partners in a unique public-private partnership with the major banks in order to help combat human trafficking and the laundering of the proceeds derived from this activity. In the three months since Project Protect was launched, the Centre’s disclosures to law enforcement regarding human trafficking increased significantly.

Recognizing the transnational nature of money laundering and terrorist activity financing, FINTRAC also works with foreign financial intelligence units to protect Canadians and the integrity of Canada’s financial system. Through bilateral agreements, the Centre is able to disclose financial intelligence to 92 financial intelligence units worldwide when the appropriate thresholds are met. At the same time, foreign intelligence units are able to share their information with FINTRAC, which broadens its analyses of international financial transactions.

In 2015–16, the Centre received 240 queries for information from foreign financial intelligence units and provided 384 disclosures to 41 different countries. For its part, FINTRAC sent 147 requests to foreign financial intelligence units to broaden its own analysis.

Going forward, the Centre will continue to focus on strengthening the relationships that it has with its law enforcement, national security and international partners to ensure that it continues to deliver high-quality, timely and actionable financial intelligence.

Date Modified:

Faits saillants liés au renseignement financier : 2015-2016

Résultats en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes

Septembre 2016

Le Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE), l’unité du renseignement financier du Canada, contribue à la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes et à la protection de l’intégrité du système financier canadien en prenant des mesures pour détecter et décourager le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes.

Grâce aux déclarations d’opérations financières qui lui sont transmises tous les ans par des entités déclarantes à l’échelle du pays, CANAFE est en mesure de communiquer des renseignements financiers exploitables pour appuyer les forces policières et les organismes d’application de la loi et de la sécurité nationale dans la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent, le financement des activités terroristes et les menaces pour la sécurité du Canada, tout en protégeant les renseignements des Canadiens et Canadiennes qu’il détient.

CANAFE communique des renseignements désignés sur des personnes et des entités ainsi que des renseignements sur les comptes et les opérations. Ces communications sont transmises lorsqu’il a des motifs raisonnables de soupçonner que les renseignements seraient utiles à une enquête ou à une poursuite relativement à une infraction de blanchiment d’argent ou de financement des activités terroristes ou qu’ils pourraient se rapporter à une menace pour la sécurité du Canada. Ces renseignements permettent à CANAFE d’établir des liens importants entre les opérations, les personnes et les groupes au Canada et à l’étranger qui appuient les activités criminelles et terroristes.

En juin 2015, l’Unité mixte d’enquête sur le crime organisé (UMECO) de la GRC a reconnu la contribution de CANAFE à une enquête de deux ans d’envergure internationale et touchant plusieurs pays concernant l’organisation criminelle 'Ndrangheta, qui mène ses activités dans la région du Grand Toronto. Le Projet OPHOENIX a donné lieu à l’arrestation de 19 personnes pour de nombreuses infractions liées à l’importation et au trafic de drogues, au trafic d’armes à feu, à l’extorsion, à la possession de produits de la criminalité et au recyclage de produits de la criminalité.

Les communications de CANAFE, qui reposent souvent sur des centaines, voire des milliers d’opérations financières, mettent en évidence des liens entre des personnes et des entreprises jusque-là inconnues des enquêteurs, permettant ainsi à ces derniers de préciser la portée de leurs enquêtes ou de rediriger leur attention vers de nouvelles cibles. Les organismes d’application de la loi, dont les forces policières, utilisent aussi les communications pour préparer les affidavits qui leur permettront d’obtenir les mandats de perquisition et les ordonnances de communication dont ils ont besoin pour déposer des accusations.

Des partenaires du régime ont aussi recours aux renseignements de CANAFE afin de repérer des biens aux fins de saisie et de confiscation, d’appuyer une demande d’inscription d’une organisation à la liste des entités terroristes, de négocier des ententes au moment de la détermination de la peine et d’approfondir les connaissances du gouvernement sur la dimension financière du terrorisme, du crime organisé et d’autres menaces.

CANAFE entretient des relations de travail très étroites et fructueuses, avec ses partenaires des forces policières et des organismes d’application de la loi et de la sécurité nationale afin de s’assurer que ses renseignements financiers sont pertinents et très utiles et qu’ils s’harmonisent étroitement avec leurs priorités. Le sous-directeur des Opérations de CANAFE fait partie des membres de l’Association canadienne des chefs de police, et CANAFE est la seule organisation non responsable de l’application de la loi à siéger au comité de la Réponse intégrée canadienne au crime organisé. Certaines des enquêtes récentes auxquelles CANAFE a contribué sont présentées ci-après.

Contribution à des enquêtes prioritaires récentes des organismes d’application de la loi et de la sécurité nationale

En mai 2015, le Service de police de la Ville de Montréal a reconnu la contribution de CANAFE dans le cadre d’une enquête sur un réseau de contrebande d’alcool qui aurait fraudé le gouvernement de 14 millions de dollars en impôts sur le revenu. L’enquête a conduit à 11 arrestations pour des accusations de fraude et de recyclage des produits de la criminalité.

La GRC a reconnu l’apport de CANAFE à une enquête sur le trafic de cocaïne dans la Péninsule acadienne. Plusieurs accusations liées à la drogue ont tout d’abord été portées contre six individus en septembre 2013. Deux hommes ont été reconnus coupables et condamnés à une peine d’emprisonnement de quatre ans en septembre 2015. Quatre autres hommes ont été arrêtés en juillet 2015 dans le cadre de l’Opération J-Touchdown. Plus de deux kilogrammes de cocaïne, deux véhicules et de l’argent ont été saisis.

En octobre 2015, la section criminelle de Temiskaming de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario a reconnu les efforts de CANAFE dans le cadre d’une enquête de trois ans concernant une allégation de fraude impliquant la rénovation et la vente d’une propriété commerciale vacante. Cinq individus ont été accusés d’un total de 60 infractions au Code criminel. La perte financière s’élève à environ 7,5 millions de dollars.

En décembre 2015, la section chargée de la fraude par marketing de masse de l’unité des crimes financiers du Service de police de Toronto a reconnu la contribution de CANAFE à une enquête de trois ans au sujet d’une opération pyramidale présumée de 93 millions de dollars. Deux individus ont été accusés, entre autres, d’avoir escroqué le public, de possession de produits de la criminalité et de recyclage de produits de la criminalité.

En janvier 2016, la contribution de CANAFE a été reconnue dans le cadre d’une opération policière conjointe à laquelle participaient la Police provinciale de l’Ontario, le Service de police d’Ottawa et le Groupe de la criminalité financière de la Division « O » du Détachement d’Ottawa de la GRC, baptisée le Projet ATTAR. Cette enquête sur les produits de la criminalité a mené au blocage de deux biens d’une valeur totalisant 1,4 million de dollars.

En mars 2016, l’Équipe intégrée de la sécurité nationale de la GRC à Toronto a reconnu la contribution de CANAFE à une enquête criminelle exhaustive relative à la sécurité nationale nommée Projet SWAP, qui a donné lieu à une accusation de terrorisme en vertu du Code criminel.

En 2015-2016, CANAFE a transmis 1 655 communications de renseignements financiers exploitables à ses partenaires du régime.

Communications de renseignements de CANAFE de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016
Communications de renseignements de CANAFE de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016
Voir l'équivalent textuel Communications de renseignements de CANAFE de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016

Ce graphique compare le nombre de renseignements communiqués par CANAFE de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016.

CANAFE a communiqué 796 renseignements en 2011-2012.

CANAFE a communiqué 919 renseignements en 2012-2013.

CANAFE a communiqué 1 143 renseignements en 2013-2014.

CANAFE a communiqué 1 260 renseignements en 2014-2015.

CANAFE a communiqué 1 655 renseignements en 2015-2016.


Du nombre total des communications transmises, 1 501 étaient liées au blanchiment d’argent et 483, au financement d’activités terroristes et à des menaces pour la sécurité du Canada, ce qui représente une augmentation de plus 43 % par rapport à l’exercice précédent.

Communications selon le type
Communications selon le type
Voir l'équivalent textuel Communications selon le type

Ce graphique compare le nombre de communications selon le type en 2015-2016.

CANAFE a communiqué 1 172 cas reliés au blanchiment d'argent.

CANAFE a communiqué 329 cas reliés au financement du terrorisme/menaces à la sécurité du Canada.

CANAFE a communiqué 154 cas reliés au blanchiment d'argent/financement du terrorisme/menaces à la sécurité du Canada.


Tout au long de l’exercice 2015-2016, les renseignements financiers de CANAFE ont contribué à un nombre important d’enquêtes des ordres fédéral, provincial et municipal dans l’ensemble du pays. Les forces policières du Canada — en particulier la Gendarmerie royale du Canada — continuent d’être les principales destinataires des communications de renseignements financiers de CANAFE.

Nombre de communications par destinataire (2015-2016)Note de bas de page *

Destinataire Communications
Gendarmerie royale du Canada 976
Services de police municipaux 582
Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité 429
Unités du renseignement financier étrangères (41 pays) 384
Services de police provinciaux 303
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada 225
Agence du revenu du Canada 205
Organismes de réglementation des valeurs mobilières provinciaux 69
Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications 47

Au cours du dernier exercice, les renseignements financiers de CANAFE ont été utilisés pour appuyer des centaines d’enquêtes sur le blanchiment d’argent menées dans le cadre d’enquêtes criminelles plus vastes où l’origine des produits présumés de la criminalité était liée à la fraude, au trafic de drogues, à l’évasion fiscale, à la corruption, au vol, à la traite de personnes et à d’autres infractions criminelles.

Types d'infractions sous-jacentes liées aux communications de renseignementsNote de bas de page *

Catégories d’infractions sous-jacentes Pourcentage
Fraude 32 %
Drogues 22 %
Crime organisé 12 %
Évasion fiscale 12 %
Infractions liées aux douanes et à l’accise 7 %
Infractions à la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (à l’exception du passage de clandestins et de la traite de personnes) 6 %
Passage de clandestins/traite de personnes 5 %
Corruption 4 %
Vol 4 %
Crimes contre des personnes 3 %
Possession d’armes à feu et trafic d’armes 3 %
Infractions liées à des organismes de bienfaisance 2 %
Jeu illégal 2 %
Prostitution/maisons de débauche 2 %
Autres infractions (crimes contre la propriété, leurre, vente/distribution de produits de tabac, autres infractions aux lois fédérales) 1 %
Exploitation d’enfants 1 %

En 2015-2016, CANAFE a reçu 1 618 dossiers de casNote de bas de page 1de ses partenaires des forces policières et des organismes d’application de la loi et de la sécurité nationale, ainsi que des membres du public. Il s’agit d’une augmentation d’environ 20 % par rapport à l’exercice précédent. Ces dossiers sont une source de renseignements importants sur de présumés criminels et terroristes et sont souvent le point de départ des analyses de CANAFE. Ils sont utilisés pour établir des liens entre des personnes et des entités, et pour produire des renseignements financiers, permettant ainsi aux partenaires d’obtenir des pistes précieuses dans le cadre de leurs enquêtes.

Nombre de dossiers de cas reçu de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016
Nombre de dossiers de cas reçu de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016
Voir l'équivalent textuel Nombre de dossiers de cas reçu de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016

Ce graphique compare le nombre de dossiers de cas reçu de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016.

CANAFE a reçu 1 034 dossiers de cas en 2011-2012.

CANAFE a reçu 1 082 dossiers de cas en 2012-2013.

CANAFE a reçu 1 320 dossiers de cas en 2013-2014.

CANAFE a reçu 1 380 dossiers de cas en 2014-2015.

CANAFE a reçu 1 618 dossiers de cas en 2015-2016.


Lorsque les conditions nécessaires sont remplies, CANAFE peut aussi communiquer, de façon proactive, des renseignements financiers exploitables à ses partenaires des forces policières, des organismes d’application de la loi et de la sécurité nationale en se fondant sur les particularités observées dans les opérations et l’information tirée des déclarations d’opérations financières, en particulier les déclarations d’opérations douteuses. CANAFE a investi des efforts considérables pour s’assurer que les entités déclarantes lui transmettent un plus grand nombre de déclarations d’opérations douteuses de meilleure qualité, compte tenu de leur importance pour les analyses et la production de renseignements financiers destinés à ses partenaires. Grâce à ces efforts et à un engagement accru de la part des entités déclarantes, le nombre de déclarations d’opérations douteuses a augmenté de 24 % au cours du dernier exercice, ce qui a permis à CANAFE de transmettre, de façon proactive – et, même dans des délais plus courts – un plus grand nombre de communications liées à des enquêtes en cours de ses partenaires et qui ont contribué au lancement de nouvelles enquêtes.

La demande pour le renseignement de CANAFE augmente graduellement depuis les cinq dernières années. Cela témoigne des partenariats solides qu’il a établis avec les forces policières et les organismes d’application de la loi et de la sécurité nationale, ainsi que de l’importante contribution faite par CANAFE à leurs enquêtes prioritaires. Cette augmentation est également attribuable aux efforts considérables déployés par CANAFE et les entités déclarantes à l’échelle du pays pour accroître la quantité et la qualité des déclarations d’opérations que CANAFE reçoit en vertu de la Loi. Les 20 millions de déclarations d’opérations financières qu’il reçoit des entreprises canadiennes chaque année sont la source de ses analyses et permettent à CANAFE d’appuyer les enquêtes liées au blanchiment d’argent et au financement des activités terroristes de ses partenaires.

La contribution croissante de CANAFE aux enquêtes de ses partenaires des forces policières et des organismes d’application de la loi et de la sécurité nationale a été rendue possible grâce à l’engagement et aux investissements faits par CANAFE pour recruter des employés de haute qualité qui ont accès à la formation spécialisée, aux technologies de pointe et au soutien avancé nécessaire pour remplir leurs rôles spécialisés. Au cours de la dernière année, CANAFE a aussi mis l’accent sur l’intégration et l’harmonisation de sa structure et de ses processus opérationnels en vue de renforcer son efficacité opérationnelle. Le paradigme opérationnel de CANAFE – la conformité aux fins du renseignement et le renseignement aux fins d’application de la loi – fait en sorte qu’il met toujours l’accent sur son mandat premier : contribuer à la protection des Canadiens et Canadiennes et du système financier du Canada.

Un nouveau partenariat dans la lutte contre la traite de personnes

En 2015-2016, CANAFE s’est joint à ses partenaires des forces policières et de la sécurité nationale, CANAFE dans le cadre d’un partenariat public-privé unique avec les grandes banques afin de contribuer à la lutte contre la traite de personnes et le recyclage des produits obtenus au moyen de cette activité. Au cours des trois premiers mois qui ont suivi le lancement du Projet Protection, le nombre de communications sur la traite de personnes transmises par CANAFE aux organismes d’application de la loi s’est accru considérablement.

Compte tenu de la nature transnationale du blanchiment d’argent et du financement des activités terroristes, CANAFE collabore aussi avec les unités du renseignement financier étrangères afin de protéger les Canadiens et les Canadiennes et l’intégrité du système financier du Canada. Grâce aux ententes bilatérales conclues, il peut communiquer des renseignements financiers à 92 unités du renseignement financier à l’échelle mondiale lorsque les conditions nécessaires sont remplies. Les unités du renseignement financier étrangères peuvent également communiquer des renseignements à CANAFE, ce qui lui permet d’élargir la portée de ses analyses sur des opérations financières internationales.

En 2015-2016, le Centre a reçu 240 demandes d’information d’unités du renseignement financier étrangères et a transmis 384 communications à 41 pays différents. Pour sa part, CANAFE a présenté 147 demandes à des unités du renseignement financier afin d’élargir la portée de ses propres analyses.

À l’avenir, CANAFE continuera d’accorder une importance particulière au renforcement de ses relations avec ses partenaires des forces policières, de la sécurité nationale et à l’étranger afin d’être en mesure de continuer à communiquer en temps opportun des renseignements financiers exploitables de haute qualité.

Date de modification :