Reviews and appeals

If you do not agree with a decision made by FINTRAC, you may request a review of your file by the Director of FINTRAC.

Under the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act, you have the right to make representations to the Director concerning an administrative monetary penalty and you have the right to apply for a review concerning a decision made with respect to the registration of money services businesses.

FINTRAC's Reviews and Appeals Unit receives and processes representations and applications for review made to the Director.

Requesting a review

You may request a review in the following situations:

In both situations, your request for review must be made within 30 days after the day on which you receive the notice of violation, denial or revocation.

Representations to the Director in the case of a notice of violation (penalty)

If you have received a notice of violation, you can make representations to the Director of FINTRAC in relation to the violation(s) and the proposed penalty. Your representations must be made in writing and sent to the mailing address below. You may provide any information in support of your representations. Only violations for which you have presented written representations will be reviewed by the Director. When you submit your representations:

A Representations Form is available to guide persons and entities in submiting written representations. The use of the Representations Form is optional. You may submit representations in the written format of your choice.

Form to Make Representations to the Director (PDF file, 119 kb)

Application for review in the case of a notice of denial or revocation

The request must be made in writing and sent to the mailing address below. An explanation, and any additional supporting information, should accompany the request.

How a request for review is processed

Your request will first be reviewed to ensure that it has been filed within the prescribed 30 days. Once it is determined that a request for review has been filed within 30 days, a review and appeal officer will be assigned to your case and an acknowledgement of receipt will be sent to you.

The review and appeal officer will review your case and written submissions, and any additional information you have provided. Following the review of your file, the officer will make a recommendation to the Director who will render a decision and issue a notice of decision. The Director may decide to impose, reduce or cancel the penalty proposed in the notice of violation. As for the denial or the revocation of the registration of a money services business, the Director may decide to confirm the decision or substitute his own decision.

You will be advised in writing of the decision.

Appeal to the Federal Court

If you have been notified of the decision by the Director but do not agree, you can appeal to the Federal Court. You have to do so within 30 days after the day the decision is served to you, or within a longer period that the Court may allow.

You also have the right to appeal to the Federal Court if the Director does not issue a decision in the 90 days following your request to review. In this particular case, you have to file your appeal within 30 days after the expiration of the 90-day period.

Exception:

If the decision by the Director concerns a penalty for a minor violation, the decision is final and cannot be appealed to the Federal Court. However, a series of minor violations identified on a notice of violation is considered to be a serious violation when the total of the penalties is equal or greater than $10,000. In this case, a series of violations totaling $10,000 or more may be appealed to the Federal Court.

How to contact FINTRAC

Mail
Reviews and Appeals Unit
Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada
24th Floor, 234 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 1H7

Telephone
Toll-free: 1-866-346-8722

Email
rev-app@fintrac-canafe.gc.ca

Regular email and fax are not secure methods to transmit information and as such you should refrain from sending sensitive personal information through those means.

Reviews and appeals FAQ

Date Modified:

Révisions et appels

Si vous êtes en désaccord avec une décision rendue par CANAFE, vous pouvez demander que le directeur du Centre révise votre dossier.

En vertu de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes, vous avez le droit de présenter des observations au directeur quant à une pénalité administrative pécuniaire et vous pouvez demander la révision d'une décision prise dans le cadre de l'inscription des entreprises de services monétaires.

L'Unité des révisions et des appels reçoit et traite les observations et les demandes de révision présentées au directeur.

Demander une révision

Vous pouvez demander une révision dans les cas suivants :

Dans les deux cas, une demande de révision doit être présentée dans les 30 jours suivant le jour où vous avez reçu le procès-verbal, l'avis de refus ou de révocation.

Présentations d'observations au directeur dans le cas d'un procès-verbal (pénalité)

Si vous avez reçu un procès-verbal, vous pouvez présenter des observations au directeur relativement aux violations ou à la pénalité proposée. Vos observations doivent être présentées par écrit et envoyées à l'adresse postale indiquée ci-dessous. Vous pouvez fournir des informations à l’appui de vos observations. Seules les violations pour lesquelles des observations écrites ont été présentées seront révisées par le directeur. Lorsque vous présentez des observations, veuillez :

Un Formulaire d’observation est disponible pour aider les personnes et les entités qui veulent présenter des observations écrites. Ce formulaire est facultatif. Vous pouvez présenter des observations écrites dans le format de votre choix.

Formulaire de présentation d’observations au directeur (fichier PDF, 119 ko)

Demande de révision dans le cas d'un avis de refus ou de révocation

La demande doit se faire par écrit et être envoyée à l'adresse postale ci-dessous. Une explication et toute autre information doivent être comprises dans la demande.

Traitement d'une demande de révision

Premièrement, votre demande sera vérifiée afin de s'assurer qu'elle a été reçue dans le délai de 30 jours. Une fois qu'il a été établi que la demande de révision a été présentée dans le délai de 30 jours, elle sera attribuée à un agent de révision et d’appel. Vous recevrez alors un accusé de réception.

L'agent de révision et d’appel étudiera votre demande, vos soumissions écrites et toute autre information que vous avez fournies. Après l'étude de votre demande, l'agent présentera ses recommandations au directeur qui rendra une décision et émettra un avis sur le sujet. Le directeur peut imposer, réduire ou annuler la pénalité proposée au procès-verbal. Quant au refus ou à la révocation de l'inscription d'une entreprise de services monétaires, le directeur peut confirmer la décision ou y substituer sa propre décision.

Vous recevrez un avis écrit de la décision.

Appel à la Cour fédérale

Si vous avez été avisé de la décision du directeur, mais que vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez en appeler à la Cour fédérale. Vous devez le faire dans les 30 jours suivant la date de signification de la décision ou dans un délai plus long accordé par la Cour.

Si le directeur n'émet pas de décision dans les 90 jours suivant votre demande de révision, vous avez le droit d'interjeter appel à la Cour fédérale. Vous devez le faire dans les 30 jours suivant l'expiration de la période de 90 jours.

Exception :

Si la décision du directeur porte sur une violation mineure, cette décision est finale et ne peut faire l'objet d'un appel à la Cour fédérale. Toutefois, une série de violations mineures comprises dans le même procès-verbal est considérée comme une violation sérieuse lorsque le montant total des pénalités est de 10 000 $ ou plus. Une série de violations totalisant 10 000 $ ou plus peut donc faire l'objet d'un appel à la Cour fédérale.

Comment communiquer avec CANAFE

Courrier
Unité des révisions et des appels
Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada
24e étage, 234, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 1H7

Téléphone
Sans frais : 1-866-346-8722

Courriel
rev-app@canafe-fintrac.gc.ca

Le courriel et le télécopieur ne sont pas des méthodes de transmission sécuritaires et, par conséquent, vous devez éviter d’envoyer les renseignements personnels et confidentiels par ces moyens.

FAQ sur les révisions et appels

Date de modification :