Financial entities

Your Obligations

The following summary of the legislative requirements under the PCMLTFA applies to you if you are a financial entity. This includes banks (that is, those listed in Schedule I or II of the Bank Act) or authorized foreign banks with respect to their operations in Canada, credit unions, caisses populaires, financial services cooperatives, credit union centrals (when they offer financial services to anyone other than a member entity of the credit union central), trust companies, loan companies and agents of the Crown that accept deposit liabilities.

Additional Information for Financial Entities

Reporting

Record Keeping

You must keep the following records:

See Guideline 6G: Record Keeping and Client Identification for Financial Entities

Ascertaining Identity

You must take specific measures to identify the following individuals or entities:

See Guideline 6G: Record Keeping and Client Identification for Financial Entities

Use of personal information

The use of personal information in Canadian commercial activities is protected by the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA), or by substantially similar provincial legislation. You have to inform individuals concerning the collection of personal information about them. However, you do not have to inform individuals when you include personal information about them in any of the reports that you are required to make to FINTRAC. You can get more information about your responsibilities in this area from the following:

Business Relationship

You are in a business relationship when a client holds an account with you.

You enter into a business relationship when a client opens an account with you; or when you conduct two or more transactions in which you have to:

See Guideline 6G: Record Keeping and Client Identification for Financial Entities

Politically Exposed Foreign Person

You have to take reasonable measures to determine whether you are dealing with a politically exposed foreign person for new or existing accounts or certain electronic funds transfers of $100,000 or more. You also have to keep records and take additional measures.

See Guideline 6G: Record Keeping and Client Identification for Financial Entities

Third Party Determination

Where a large cash transaction record is required, or when a signature card or account operating agreement is created, you must take reasonable measures to determine whether the individual is acting on behalf of a third party.

In cases where a third party is involved, specific information about the third party and their relationship with the individual providing the cash or the account holder must be obtained.

See Guideline 6G: Record Keeping and Client Identification for Financial Entities

Compliance Regime

The following five elements must be included in a compliance regime:

See Guideline 4: Implementation of a Compliance Regime

Penalties for Non-compliance

Non-compliance with Part 1 of the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) Terrorist Financing Act may result in criminal or administrative penalties.

FINTRAC Interpretation Notice

FINTRAC issues FINTRAC interpretation notices (FINs) to provide technical interpretations and positions regarding certain provisions contained in the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act and associated Regulations.

For more information on your obligations and on FINTRAC, you can also consult our Frequently Asked Questions.

Compliance Assessment Report

Part of FINTRAC's mandate is to ensure compliance by financial intermediaries and other reporting entities with their obligations under the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act and regulations. To do this, we can inquire into your business and examine records, including those relating to your compliance regime.

The compliance assessment report is one of the ways that FINTRAC can inquire into your business. FINTRAC will advise you in writing when you are required to complete it.

If you have received a request from FINTRAC, you need the access code provided in that request to be able to log on to the secure Compliance Assessment Report System ( https://www22.fintrac-canafe.gc.ca/cars-srec/).

For any questions about this, please contact us by e-mail at CARS-SREC@fintrac-canafe.gc.ca. If you do so, be sure to indicate your company/organization name as well as your reporting entity sector.

Date Modified:

Entités financières

Vos obligations

Veuillez trouver ci-dessous un résumé des exigences de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes auxquelles sont assujetties les entités financières. Une entité financière s'entend d'une banque (c'est-à-dire une de celles figurant aux annexes I ou II de la Loi sur les banques) ou d'une banque étrangère autorisée quant à l'exercice d'activités au Canada, d'une coopérative de crédit, d'une caisse populaire, d'une coopérative de services financiers, d'une centrale de caisses de crédit (lorsqu'elle offre des services financiers à quiconque qui n'est pas une entité membre de la centrale de caisses de crédit), d'une société de fiducie et de prêt ainsi qu'un mandataire de Sa Majesté qui se livre à l'acceptation de dépôts.

Renseignements supplémentaires pour les entités financières

Déclaration

Tenue de documents

Vous devez tenir les documents suivants :

Voir la Ligne directrice 6G : Tenue de documents et vérification de l'identité des clients – Entités financières.

Vérification de l'identité des clients

Vous devez prendre des mesures précises pour vérifier l'identité des personnes et des entités suivantes :

Voir la Ligne directrice 6G : Tenue de documents et vérification de l'identité des clients – Entités financières.

L'utilisation de renseignements personnels

L'utilisation de renseignements personnels dans le cadre d'activités commerciales effectuées au Canada est protégée en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE) ou de lois provinciales de même nature. Vous devez aviser les personnes que vous recueillez des renseignements personnels à leur sujet. Toutefois, vous n'avez pas à les en aviser si vous incluez ces renseignements dans l'une des déclarations que vous devez présenter à CANAFE. Vous pouvez obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur vos responsabilités à cet égard à partir des sources suivantes :

Relation d'affaires

Vous êtes en relation d'affaires avec un client qui détient un compte.

Vous établissez une relation d'affaires lorsqu'un client ouvre un compte; ou lorsque vous effectuez deux opérations ou plus à l'égard desquelles vous devez :

Voir la Ligne directrice 6G : Tenue de documents et vérification de l'identité des clients – Entités financières.

Étrangers politiquement vulnérables

Vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour déterminer si la personne avec qui vous faites affaire est un étranger politiquement vulnérable dans le cadre de l'ouverture d'un compte, des comptes déjà ouverts ou de certains télévirements de 100 000 $ ou plus. Vous devez aussi tenir des documents et prendre des mesures supplémentaires.

Voir la Ligne directrice 6G : Tenue de documents et vérification de l'identité des clients – Entités financières.

Détermination quant aux tiers

Chaque fois que vous devez tenir un relevé d'opération importante en espèces, une fiche-signature ou une convention de tenue de compte, vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour établir si la personne qui vous remet la somme ou le client agit pour le compte d'un tiers.

Si vous concluez que la personne ou le client agit pour le compte d'un tiers, vous devez obtenir certains renseignements précis sur le tiers et sur la nature du lien qui l'unit à la personne qui vous remet la somme ou au titulaire du compte.

Voir la Ligne directrice 6G : Tenue de documents et vérification de l'identité des clients – Entités financières.

Programme de conformité

Un programme de conformité doit être mis en œuvre et comporter les cinq éléments suivants :

Voir la Ligne directrice 4 : Mise en œuvre d'un programme de conformité.

Pénalités pour les cas de non-conformité

Un manque de conformité à la partie 1 de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes peut entraîner des sanctions pénales et des pénalités administratives.

Bulletins d'interprétation de CANAFE

CANAFE publie des bulletins d'interprétation (BIC) pour donner une interprétation technique et faire connaître sa position concernant certaines dispositions de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur vos obligations et sur CANAFE, vous pouvez aussi consulter notre Foire aux questions.

Rapport sur l'évaluation de la conformité

CANAFE a la responsabilité de veiller à ce que les intermédiaires financiers et les entités déclarantes s'acquittent de leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (la Loi). Pour ce faire, il dispose du pouvoir d'examiner vos activités et vos documents, y compris ceux ayant trait à votre programme de conformité.

CANAFE peut vous demander de transmettre un rapport sur l'évaluation de la conformité afin d'examiner vos activités. CANAFE vous avisera par écrit si vous devez le transmettre.

Si CANAFE vous a demandé de transmettre un rapport sur l'évaluation de la conformité, il vous faudra le code d'accès communiqué dans la demande afin de pouvoir ouvrir une session du système sécurisé (https://www22.fintrac-canafe.gc.ca/cars-srec/).

Si vous avez des questions à ce sujet, veuillez communiquer avec CANAFE par courriel à CARS-SREC@canafe-fintrac.gc.ca. Assurez-vous d'indiquer le nom de votre entreprise/organisation ainsi que votre secteur d'entité déclarante.

Date de modification :